We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like showering with cockroaches,...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Ponderosa Drive, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“If you like showering with cockroaches,...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

This place was not the greatest. The first room was a smoking room which was their mistake. Should have been non. It smelled awful even to a smoker. Second room was a suite and there were two cockroaches in the bathtub. The towels were stained and if you needed shampoo or soap, you had to get it at the check in desk. Beds were uncomfortable and tvs were awful.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    179
    102
    43
    23
See reviews for
257
74
47
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lorton, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The hotel was well located, right off the highway, but the rooms were extremely small, and absolutely no extras here…no shampoo or toiletries. The internet “bargain” rate was only $3 under the rack rate, which was prominently posted on the sign outside. When we requested two beds (instead of one queen), the rate was immediately raised by $10, which we ended up paying. The front desk clerk was not very helpful and would not even consider a very polite request for anything other than a basic room. She would not discuss an upgrade, even though the hotel was obviously almost empty. This was confirmed the next morning when the only people at the breakfast were a group of migrant workers (who stayed 4-5 to a room) and my husband and I. It was not a very good experience.

Small rooms with VERY uncomfortable beds. Little or no service. Sheets had holes and were stained and discolored. Cleanliness was acceptable, but corners of the bathroom were dirty and the carpets were discolored and spotted. Not a place I would want to return to.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

We visit family in Christiansburg about twice a year and have stayed in many of the area motels. The queen suite at Microtel is the best value. It is always clean and everything is in good working order. The lighting is very good. Breakfast is nothing fancy but it does have fresh fruit and packets of cream cheese or peanut butter for a bagle or bread spread along with the usual cereals and pastries. The queen room is very small but for a few dollars more, the queen suite is quite spacious. Be sure to ask for a room facing the front of the motel if road noise bothers you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Paid about 70 to 2 queen beds for one night. Room was clean and had all the basics. Continential Breakfast was nice- cereal- juice-coffee and danish. No Pool- Excercise room was not in service. Will look for other hotels with a pool next time, but it was clean and cheap.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondacks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

While I've never stayed at a microtel before my first experience was a positive one. I made a reservation as it was a good stopping point for the start of my trip. I was unsure as to whether or not to book as I had read mixed reviews, but the rate was great. Upon arrival the woman at the front desk was very friendly and informative. Check in was quick, efficent, and an overall positive start to the stay. The room itself is smaller in size, but very clean. It is a bit off the I-81 but the location is easily accessible, and there are several dining options close by. Overall for a stopover I would reccomend this hotel as the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg,VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We came to Christiansburg because there was no availability in Radford,VA for the Highlanders Festival and Parent's weekend. The room was fairly clean ( the ventialtion units and carpets were quite dirty). I have never, ever seen a room quite as small as the one we recieved. If you rent here, take my advice and book a suite or a double room; when you open the door to the room, you are about 3 feet from the bed!

Also, note that there are no coffee makers in the room. We wanted to sleep in and forgo the bagels, cereal and muffins. But because we had no coffee maker, we had to get dressed and go two floors down to the lobby, just for a cup of joe!
In all fairness...it was ok for the price.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We stayed one night as the first part of a longer trip. Booked the room through Expedia and paid $53 which I believe is an outstanding price. The room was very clean, albeit small. The hotel was full of families dropping their kids off at Virginia Tech and so the whole place had a good vibe. One quick note is that you have to ask for shampoo from the desk although the room had soap already. We had a single queen for the night which was not bad. Our biggest complaint is that it was clear that people had at one time or recently smoked in the rooms or hall. While the room did not smell strongly of smoke, it definitely had the smell in the hall and air. Nothing too bad, but if you are sensitive then this place will probably not work for you. Breakfast was good for a continental spread, and the best part was that it looks as if there are some great running places right off of the back of the hotel. Wireless internet worked great without too much lag, and all amenities were available as advertised. I might mention that this is a little bit off of I-81, but it was really worth it for the price and experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Address: 135 Ponderosa Drive, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Christiansburg
#3 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Christiansburg Hotel Christiansburg
Microtel Christiansburg
Christiansburg Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.