We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again in a smoking room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Ponderosa Drive, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Suite;Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
US VA
2 reviews
“Never again in a smoking room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I would normally rate this hotel as a 5 all the way across. I have stayed there many times, but this last time a stayed in a smoking room which I knew in advance, but being 2012 I had no idea it could be that bad. Fortunately they had someone not show up and the next morning I was able to change to a non smoking room. I would seriously sleep in my car before sleeping in their smoking room again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Roatan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel was clean, check in was quick, the room felt clean and was very air conditioned (great if you don't like a stuffy room) on arrival, plenty of towels, but no hair dryer. We stayed in a two queen non smoking room for one night and it was just fine for our purposes. The odd numbered rooms are on the side of the interstate or highway, so if traffic noise bothers you, request a room on the other side of the hotel.

While the room was not smoky and we stayed on a non smoking floor, the hall wreaked of old smoke. If you're very sensitive to this kind of thing, you may want to look elsewhere. It didn't bother me since I wasn't in the hall any real amount of time.

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms are on the side of the interstate or highway, so if traffic noise bothers you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cm4delta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Although my impression of this Inn was favorable, there were some shortcomings.

The staff was personable and eager to make our stay pleasant, readily agreeing to allow us a late checkout. The lobby was bright, roomy and presented a welcoming appearance. The room was bright and cheerful-furniture was light colored, which helped with the brightness, and was in excellent condition-almost appeared new. For some reason which is beyond me, the entire wall over the beds was composed of mirrors. The two queen-size beds were quite comfortable-much better than those in some places we have stayed. The price was very reasonable. The Inn is conveniently located and is easy to find.

The room lacked several items you would reasonably expect in the average Inn. There was no coffee pot in the room. A hairdryer was available only from the Front Desk. Shampoo was available only at the Front Desk; no mention was made of other personal care items normally found in the bathroom of the typical motel. The room had only one chair. Only a Continental breakfast was provided.

As is generally true, you get what you pay for. The Inn was inexpensive so one has to realize there are compromises between cost and amenities. There were no pool or fitness room, which is fine with me as I never use them but still have to pay for them in other motels, which of course runs up the price. The absences of a hair dryer and coffee pot in the room were definite negatives. The absence of shampoo and like items is no big deal. Also, I was surprised that the breakfast was so limited. The walls are a bit thin so we could hear conversations of our neighbors.

Bottom line-comfortable and inexpensive night’s sleep outweighs negatives.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and we heard children running around in the room above, so may be be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here on a priceline 'name your price' adventure. Room was small, bed was uncomfortable. Previous people's hairs all over room and bathroom. No shampoo/conditioner...just a note to go down and get it from front desk...what is this some third world country? Hard to do once you're already in the shower. Drain didn't work. Breakfast was terrible. Came back to my room one night to a full-blown drug bust in the room upstairs...very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

No bells and whistles here. A clean room, a comfy bed, clean bathroom, and thicker walls to isolate surrounding guest noises. Room size is what I call 'cozy'. Wouldn't want to stay more than a day or two, but for short duration the value can't be beat! Plenty of restaurants to choose from very close to property. I was happy with my overnight stay here and would do do again during my travels.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekker38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

While attending a 3 day swim meet, I recently stayed in the Microtel in Christiansburg, VA. I booked this hotel because it was listed as a recommended hotel for the swim meet and also according to the first few ratings on trip advisor which stated it was excellent. I should have read further into the reviews, because I will never book at this hotel again. Upon arriving at the hotel, I immediately new it was not going to be pleasant. There were signs on the doors stating that all contractors staying in the hotel must have clean feet. The floors were not very clean. Once we arrived in our room, the floors were filthy and the carpeting felt wet the entire time I was there. There was a hole in the bathroom wall that had not been repaired where someone obviously banged the door against it too hard. There was a large red kool-aid like stain beside our bed. The walls were sticky...yes I said sticky and dirty. If you are travelling to Christiansburg, I suggest you go next door to the Hampton Inn. It will be well worth the $119 per night stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else if cleanliness matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVTraveler26201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 13 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#8 of 13 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
1.2 mi away
The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Address: 135 Ponderosa Drive, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Christiansburg
#4 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Christiansburg Hotel Christiansburg
Microtel Christiansburg
Christiansburg Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing