We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Arbor Drive, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save Big
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
pa
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

We stayed here as a stop while traveling on I-81. The hotel had only three rooms left 2 weeks ahead of time so I booked a King Suite instead of the usual double queen we would book as a family of 4. For $135, the clean room had a lot of room, table w/ 2 wing chairs, desk and chair, pull-out couch, lounge chair, TV, true King sized bed and separate bathroom with sink, cosmetic table, whirlpool, two-head shower, and toilet. The furnishings were nice and there was a significant amount of room. It seemed clean except that there was a slight funky odor in the toilet area and I could not find an exhaust fan. There was a complimentary breakfast with a hot option of previously frozen egg and sausage patty. The kitchen server was overwhelmed by the steady crowd on a Sunday mornig and kept working hard to keep up with the demand. She apologized several times for not being able to keep items properly stocked. The property seemed fairly new and was in an area of shopping centers and hotels. I would recommend staying here. This was rated high by others on this site and many other hotels in this area of I-81 were also booked during the peak travel time we visited.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    61
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
147
67
22
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

The staff is extremely frrendly and helpful. They insisted on calling a taxi for my wife to go to the nearby mall. The hotel iteself is first-rate. Breakfast is good. No complaints!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

This hotel was a great stay. It has a small "semi-boutique" feel to it from appearances. The room was bright, clean and decorated with a modern "Regency" feel and had new white duvets and plenty of pillows on the beds. The mattresses were very comfortable and the bathroom was nice and large.

My only complaint is the 1980's style BRIGHT white overhead lights in the bathroom -- too harsh, especially first thing in the morning (besides, these lights don't make anyone look good in that plate glass mirror). However, it's a minor issue in comparison to the comfort and price ($105/per night).

The pool is outdoors, which was disappointing for the kids since we arrived on a day when the temps were in the 60's.

The continental breakfast was very sufficient with several types of hot and cold cereals and beverages, fresh fruit, eggs, muffins, and biscuits/gravy. The only food item missing was sausage or bacon. There are also several major chain restaurants located nearby.

Note that this hotel is probably the closest to I-81 in this town, but it is still about 4 miles off the interstate. The check-in was very friendly and quick; chocolate chip cookies are offered on the front counter.

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

I stayed here for three nights with my family of four for a job interview in the area. I was told by people that we met that this is one of the nicer places in the area.

The hotel room was clean. The staff was helpful for all of the questions that we had. The beds were comfortable enough. The high-efficiency toilet seemed to have a problem flushing toilet paper, but the bathroom was otherwise fine.

The complementary breakfast was poor. The fruit selection was previously frozen fruit that one would get from Costco (fit to be blended up for a shake but not to be eaten plain). The "hot" items of the breakfast are all frozen and are to be microwaved by the guests as they eat. Thus, the waffles are soggy, the egg/cheese/bread-product thing is soggy, and the pancakes are soggy. If a hotel is only going to make a half-hearted attempt at a hot breakfast, then it just shouldn't make any attempt at a hot breakfast.

  • Liked — Close to highway
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

04/20/07
We stayed for 1 night on the 5th floor,nonsmoking king deluxe room. We had a late arrival with no problem checking in.
All staff friendly and professional. Excellent room overall,very comfotable bed,with a sleeper sofa.Micro and fridge,large bathroom with a jacuzzi. Complementary breakfast was nicely presented,and area clean.Cannot comment on the exercise room and outdoor pool is not open probably due to cool weather.
Hotel location is just off Rt.460 and convenient to restaurants and shopping.We were attending a baseball game @ Virginia Tech which is a short distance away.We would stay @ this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn in Christiansburg while on our road trip to Florida. I've stayed in many Hampton Inns over the years, and they have all been satisfactory for the price. However, I felt compelled to comment on this one. I found the room to be quite nice with beautiful, comfortable bedding. I liked this bed better than my own at home! The bathroom and the room were both spotless, as well. The breakfast was fine, with microwavable waffles/pancakes/egg sandwiches, cold and hot cereal, fruit, yogurt and beverages. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. A pleasant stay overall!

  • Liked — bedding, cleanliness of room and bathroom
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

Had a very enjoyable three night stay at the Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg. The room was neat and clean, with fluffy bedding. There was a microwave and and small fridge in the room. The complimentary breakfast was very good. The staff was helpful and friendly - would definitely stay there again. Virginia Tech is 10 minutes away by car.

  • Liked — good service
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Address: 380 Arbor Drive, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansburg
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Christiansburg’s commercial and retail districts, the Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg is the perfect place to rest after a day of business meetings or hiking. From the New River to the charm of downtown Blacksburg, there is no shortage of things to do or places to see. While you stay at the Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg, enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning, complimentary high-speed internet, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg Hotel Christiansburg
Christiansburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.