We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions of Hibachi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kabuki Japanese Steak House

Kabuki Japanese Steak House
120 Arbor Dr., Christiansburg, VA 24073
540-381-3600
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Description: Come for the show and Come Back for the food!Celebrating with the Family? Our expert chefs cook the highest quality ingredients while you watch at the table in the main dining room. If sushi is your preference, we have a sushi bar where you can watch our specially trained sushi chefs prepare all types of sushi. Prefer a quiet dinner for two? Sit in our lounge and bar next to our beautiful koi pond. You can enjoy our full menu regardless of what experience you choose for your dining adventure.
Bethesda, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Huge portions of Hibachi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I split the hibachi steak and chicken combo with shrimp appetizer, salad and soup. Enjoyed the food, especially the ginger dressing and shrimp. The chef was entertaining and service was prompt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Much more than you would expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Kabuki is one of the most consistant good meals in the area. The sushi is good, and the hibachi "show" is always fun. The decor is fantastic and makes going there a memorable experience for any special occasion. The way under utilized bar is the nicest spot in the region to take a date for a drink, or a business/social meet.

Best value for the best time.

Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Use to be much better :o(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have always enjoyed going here and went her pretty often and it had always been great....UNTIL.... ok so 1 not so great trip after so many great 1's, i think "ok things happen not a big deal food was still pretty good" That was at the begining of the yr and we have been back twice since (3 total in less than 5 months) and each time it gets less impressive. This past saturday are veggies were hardly warm, nothing close to being cooked. My schrimp and scallops were over-cooked, and they use to give so much food that my daughter (6) and I would share and still have plenty left over, well this time she wasnt with us (good thing) because the amount of food has been cut in half (but not the prices) ....I was so upset because I loved this place so much, and visted both locations often, but I gave it 3 addtional tries after i 1st started to notice it was going downhill

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hibachi dinner is pretty standard- rice, protein, veggies etc but it is quite good. I prefer to go here for the sushi! It's a bit pricey, but totally worth the money. Everything is fresh, and the servers are always more than willing to explain what in in each roll or what substitutions can be made. As an extra bonus (and to fill you up without putting too much of a dent in your wallet), ask for a side of fried rice. It is prepared exactly as if would be on the hibachi grill and is a great side for the sushi!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djstatick
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We didn't do the hibachi dinner thing, but instead just got sushi. Make sure to make them aware of this when you enter, so they can seat you correctly and quickly. The sushi was good, the specials were great, and the service was also top notch. A bit pricey (but sushi usually is), but overall, worth a trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabuki Japanese Steak House also viewed

 
Christiansburg, VA
 

Been to Kabuki Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kabuki Japanese Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.