We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value; fridge a plus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Christiansburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Christiansburg to your Saves list
Super 8 Christiansburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2780 Roanoke Street, I-81 Exit 118-C, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Leland, MS
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great value; fridge a plus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

This hotel was a great deal with discount, and the microwave and fridge really came in handy for the 'extra food' (carry out). The location is quite good because of proximity to the bypass (to Blacksburg) and I-81 highway. Breakfast was very basic, but it was quite adequate for a quick bite. If you are looking for a hotel in the Christiansburg, Radford, Blacksburg area, you should seriously consider this one for an excellent value.

Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    36
    39
    24
    17
See reviews for
59
25
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Thanks to another reviewer, I also got the $40 room coupon from a Welcome Center coupon book. This Super 8 does not have the outside appearance of most Super 8's, it's a 1 story motel with several buildings. Huge parking lot because there used to be a restaurant (now closed) also using the parking lot. Buildings appear to be well cared for but the closed restaurant is an eyesore. My room was in the far building, room numbers in the 150's, non smoking and no pets in this bldg (this is a pet friendly motel). Room was clean, no bad smell, beds OK, everything worked OK, nice staff, convenient location to I81, Rt460, restaurants, Blacksburg, etc. Did not notice outside noise but rooms closer to Rt460 may get some road noise, room AC compressor was a bit noisy but tolerable. Standard continental breakfast OK. Overall outstanding value at $40+ for a budget motel, with no coupon rate was about $53+.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed the night at this hotel. It has recently been remodeled and we got a non-smking room with a king bed. We paid $40 using a coupon from a coupon book we picked up from the VA welcome center. The hotel staff were very helpful and courteous. The continental breakfast was fine, english muffins, cereals, danish, coffee and juice. We found Super 8 motels consistently the same on our trip. Also had free wifi with good reception.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stopped at the Super 8 as we were traveling on Interstate 81. Our room smelled strange and the bathroom was less clean than you would hope. The service was ok and the location is good but we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, CT
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

This is a fine budget motel. By "budget" I mean a fine place to sleep, but absolutely no frills. the rooms are clean, the beds were comfortable, there is an alarm clock, TV, sink outside the room with the comode and the shower, shower clean, no mildew, etc. The location is close to the freeway and Virginia Tech (10 - 15 minutes by car) and is safe. Yes, the parking lot could use a little sprucing up, but I didnt really spend much time in it, so who cares. There is a very basic continental breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Christiansburg area motels seem to be about 50% more expensive than motels further south on 81 in Dandridge TN. From the outside all rooms are on a single level in a C-shape overlooking a huge poorly maintained parking lot. This parking lot and all the rooms are behind an abandoned nightclub. Check-in was quick and uneventful. Upon entering the room the light switch next to the door did nothing. Had to find my way to a wall lamp to turn it on by the switch on the lamp. We turned the heater on which warmed the room quickly, however, the heater droned on and on all night long. The room had a rocker recliner which was a nice touch but it was well worn but comfortable. The bed was extremely firm and the pillow was about 2 inches thick. TV and wireless internet worked fine. Excellent water pressure. Carpeting was worn, old. There was a lot of dirt between the bed and nightstands at the wall which was disgusting. Bathroom was clean as well as the sink however the towels were very thin and little. My girlfriend slept well but wore her flip flops anytime she walked around the room. Check out was quick and easy. The typical "Continental breakfast" of muffins, pre-packaged sticky buns, cereal and hot chocolate mix was okay.

Overall just a basic place to stay for one night. Other choices would be better and for less money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

we got stuck staying at this hotel while moving our daughter into va. tech. from the minute we set foot in the room we knew we were in trouble. the sheets had cig burns in them. the carpet was so dirty you couldnt walk on it. the smell is still in my clothes. to top it all off we paid $138.00 for this crap because it was the only vacancy at the time. next time will plan ahead and stay at the CLEAN hampton inn . we stayed there last year and it was wonderful!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything. will never stay at a super 8 again
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Christiansburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Christiansburg

Address: 2780 Roanoke Street, I-81 Exit 118-C, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Christiansburg 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Christiansburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Christiansburg Hotel Christiansburg
Super Eight Christiansburg
Christiansburg Super Eight
Christiansburg Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Christiansburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.