We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Christiansburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Christiansburg to your Saves list
Super 8 Christiansburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2780 Roanoke Street, I-81 Exit 118-C, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Southbury, CT
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Budget motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

This is a fine budget motel. By "budget" I mean a fine place to sleep, but absolutely no frills. the rooms are clean, the beds were comfortable, there is an alarm clock, TV, sink outside the room with the comode and the shower, shower clean, no mildew, etc. The location is close to the freeway and Virginia Tech (10 - 15 minutes by car) and is safe. Yes, the parking lot could use a little sprucing up, but I didnt really spend much time in it, so who cares. There is a very basic continental breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    32
    33
    22
    16
See reviews for
52
25
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
usa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Christiansburg area motels seem to be about 50% more expensive than motels further south on 81 in Dandridge TN. From the outside all rooms are on a single level in a C-shape overlooking a huge poorly maintained parking lot. This parking lot and all the rooms are behind an abandoned nightclub. Check-in was quick and uneventful. Upon entering the room the light switch next to the door did nothing. Had to find my way to a wall lamp to turn it on by the switch on the lamp. We turned the heater on which warmed the room quickly, however, the heater droned on and on all night long. The room had a rocker recliner which was a nice touch but it was well worn but comfortable. The bed was extremely firm and the pillow was about 2 inches thick. TV and wireless internet worked fine. Excellent water pressure. Carpeting was worn, old. There was a lot of dirt between the bed and nightstands at the wall which was disgusting. Bathroom was clean as well as the sink however the towels were very thin and little. My girlfriend slept well but wore her flip flops anytime she walked around the room. Check out was quick and easy. The typical "Continental breakfast" of muffins, pre-packaged sticky buns, cereal and hot chocolate mix was okay.

Overall just a basic place to stay for one night. Other choices would be better and for less money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

we got stuck staying at this hotel while moving our daughter into va. tech. from the minute we set foot in the room we knew we were in trouble. the sheets had cig burns in them. the carpet was so dirty you couldnt walk on it. the smell is still in my clothes. to top it all off we paid $138.00 for this crap because it was the only vacancy at the time. next time will plan ahead and stay at the CLEAN hampton inn . we stayed there last year and it was wonderful!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything. will never stay at a super 8 again
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

My wife stayed at this Super 8 on August 1, 2008. The 2 queen bed room was very large with a table and 2 chairs. It had a large flat screen TV with about 70 channels. The room had a micro/fridge. This hotel is older. The walls are not sound proof, so you could hear the other guests. The carpet is also worn. The breakfast area was small. The breakfast included english muffins, pastry, coffee, and juice.

  • Liked — Good Value, close to I-81
  • Disliked — The hotel needs some updating.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

This is a good no frills, practical, clean quiet place to stay for one or two nights -- especially if you are not planning on spending a lot of time in your hotel.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

This hotel was what I expected - nothing fancy, but basically clean. The beds had fresh clean linen on them, and the floors and bathrooms were OK too. The staff was friendly, and let me use their microwave to warm something. They had a good continental breakfast. It even had a vibrating easy chair!
Only complaint is that the coffee maker had been overlooked during the last cleaning. The pot itself was cleaned, but their was a coffee pouch left over from the last occupants. Fortunately, it must have been a recent stay - no time for mold to grow or anything. I just dumped it out, cleaned it, and made my coffee.

  • Liked — convenience to the highway, clean
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2006

I was looking up reviews for hotels in Christiansburg when I saw reviews of this Super 8 that I had previously stayed at so I needed to comment as well as one word kept popping up...odor. There was an odor to this hotel I couldn't stand. A similar thing happened at a Super 8 in Rocky Mount NC. I will never stay at a Super 8 again.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The odor in the hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else...Microtel is a much better choice for about the same price.
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Christiansburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Christiansburg

Address: 2780 Roanoke Street, I-81 Exit 118-C, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Christiansburg 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Christiansburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Christiansburg Hotel Christiansburg
Super Eight Christiansburg
Christiansburg Super Eight
Christiansburg Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Christiansburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.