We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, too expensive for quality of rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Christiansburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Christiansburg to your Saves list
Super 8 Christiansburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2780 Roanoke Street, I-81 Exit 118-C, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great service, too expensive for quality of rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here mid-way through a long drive home. I arrived at about 12:30 am. The front desk clerk was both friendly and sweet, and gave me a room close to the office as she saw I was traveling alone.

Even with a discounted rate, however, I still found the cost of the room too high for the quality. My expectations were not high and nothing in the room was dreadful. As others noted, it could have been cleaner, especially the carpet, and to be sure it is shabby and the beds not so comfy. I just think such a room in such a location should not run $50-60. I was fine with the $10 pet fee for my dog, but think the basic room prices should be more in line with what you get or small renovations and more thorough cleaning should make you feel like you're getting what you paid for. The place has potential charm with its one-story, log cabin, old motor lodge "feel." Would love to see it balance price with quality more effectively. Again, kudos for service. And they do allow pets. Rooms just OK for even what is considered a budget price by many.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    36
    39
    24
    17
See reviews for
59
25
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
virginia beach
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

was in town visiting my neice and liked the super 8 especially the log cabin look to it. room was clean. tv had a good selection of channels. pool was ok but could use some work. what would really help the appearance of the hotel would be either to get a good pressure washing for the white fences which go around the hotel and then paint them or replace the white fence with the new PVC white fence which are real easy to clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King William
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Excellent location; clean room; close to food locations. When traveling to Blacksburg always stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'm not sure what all the negativity is about...this motel is a good value. This Super 8 is a sprawling one-story, U-shaped log cabin-style motel just outside Christiansburg with easy access to I-81 and US 460. The rooms are very spacious, clean and a decent free continental breakfast is included. There is also a swimming pool on property. If you're looking for luxury, go elsewhere...if you're looking for a clean room for a decent price, you could do a whole lot worse. There is a restaurant/bar on the property, but it was closed during the time of my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Christiansburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Christiansburg

Address: 2780 Roanoke Street, I-81 Exit 118-C, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Christiansburg 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Christiansburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Christiansburg Hotel Christiansburg
Super Eight Christiansburg
Christiansburg Super 8
Christiansburg Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Christiansburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.