We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it this place is a fraud” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Christiansburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Christiansburg to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Christiansburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Bristol Drive, Christiansburg, VA 24073 (Formerly Knights Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Don't do it this place is a fraud”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This place is one step away from being burned as a public health menace or demolished. Every thing is shabby. Water faucets turn the wrong way from the rest of north America. The instruction or guide plate for setting the HVAC controls is completely useless. Thin and tiny towells. Microwave was indicated at the web site but if the microwave was there I never saw it. Over priced for a roach motel. I had a far better room for less money at a Rodeway in Albuquerque, NM. That's way I took a chance with this one. Boy, was I wrong.

Room Tip: Don't go. The Choice Hotel chain is crap shoot. One never knows if their rooms will be worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    1
    5
    7
See reviews for
7
3
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I really cannot find anything good to say about this place other than the friendly lady at the desk. It is an old motel in bad need of upgrades. Uncomfortable bed which didn't even have a fitted sheet but rather a top sheet tucked in...and quickly untucked during the night. Lumpy pillows. Small bath towels that didn't even wrap around me (and I am petite). And you only get two...we had to ask for more. Cheap everything all the way around. Worst of all no coffee pot. Get rid of the full size ironing board and iron and put coffee in the rooms! Who irons anymore any way? No complimentary breakfast but they DO have free wi fi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Traveled to Virginia Tech on a weekend with a major swim meet (I was not there for the swim meet). Hotels were booked or very expensive, but Rodeway Inn was reasonable priced so I booked a room here. The day I arrived I came early to see if I could check in early. There was nobody at the desk, but I had my computer with me so I used the wireless to answer some e-mail. He arrived about 20 minutes later saying he needed to stop by the store. The guy at the desk was very friendly and he was able to get me into a room even though I was 3-4 hours prior to check in time.

The rooms have outdoor entrances and parking is in front of your room. The area has many restaurants. I saw complaints about it being hard to find. Even though it is behind a closed gas station there is a sign on the road and I had no problems finding it.

The room itself could use a make over. Outdated, some wallpaper peeling, the carpet around the baseboards were dirty, and saw a few strands of hair in the bathroom (toilet and shower). A couple outlets did not work and one light did not work. It is a good size room and had a fridge and I think a microwave. The wireless worked well. The bed was comfortable. It looked like they would do a daily quick cleaning but it had been a long time since the room was thoroughly cleaned.

Breakfast is scheduled from 7-10am. I didn't check the breakfast out the first two days, but the last day I thought I would while I checked out. Got there at 7:45 and there was no one there. Door was locked and no breakfast was available. One other note about the breakfast area I noticed earlier, the spacious breakfast area shown on the web page consisted of a table and two or three chairs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with my stay at the Rodeway Inn in Christiansburg, Virginia. It was parent's weekend at Virginia Tech and I booked my room a few days before going.

I arrived a little early and the hotel was able to let me check in early so I would have more time to spend with my daughter. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. This was a great value for my dollar.

The hotel is only a 10 minute drive to Lane Stadium and if had I stayed 5 minutes closer to Lane Stadium I would have paid nearly a $100 more just for a place to sleep.

Thanks Rodeway Inn. I will be back!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are easy to get to. I would book early when making your reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

After traveling from TX to OH to LA and basically all over the country, this hotel has been better than any $400 room Ive been comp'd for. If you need anything, just ask for Amy, and she will take better care of you than anyone Ive seen while on tour in 2012. Do NOT pass this place by while traveling!

David Thomas - Frontiers

Room Tip: any of them are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The female manager was very friendly - she was the best thing about the place which is in extreme need of being fixed/updated. The male manager guarded the ice machine, which was clearly the best thing about the place: it must have worked, or he wouldn't have guarded it! The waffe house is across the street so that was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

stayed here overnight on drive back home. the only 2 complant I have is the suicide lane and the road hard to find to turn. 2nd one is -all you have to do to check out is leave room key in room or on the front counter. lots of places to eat within 5 min of hotel. waffle house accross street, wedy's, hardees, ruby tuesday. turn left from hotel and go under bridge you'll find a olive garden and denny's, texas BBq place. clean room

Room Tip: after going under the bridge,go slow. the road you need to turn is at the end of the BP gas station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Christiansburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Christiansburg

Address: 100 Bristol Drive, Christiansburg, VA 24073 (Formerly Knights Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Christiansburg 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Christiansburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Christiansburg
Christiansburg Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Christiansburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.