We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good, Basic Place to Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg to your Saves list
Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   55 Laurel Street Northeast, I-81 Exit 118, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Vienna, VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Good, Basic Place to Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

We have been regular customers here for several years, because of family commitments. This is at 55 Laurel Street, essentially at Rt. 460 across from Wal-Mart, close by the mall.
The rooms have always been clean. There is an off-screen TV guide to help quickly find one's way through the local line-up.
The staff is competent, and cordial beyond the call of duty as witnessed by my accidently blurting out 'Wahoo' during some end of stay small talk, and they didn't hardly even flinch. They have always accommodated our reservation requests, and they have always had some little something available for us to come get at the desk in case we needed it for the room.
We have never bothered with the very basic complimentary breakfast. We have usually found coffee in the large thermos dispensers into the evening.
One can walk to Wendy's, a deli, and some semi-fast pasta place outlet. The Rt. 460 corridor is full of eateries. IHOP is about a four minute drive to get across the big intersection.

  • Liked — It is a reliable, comfortable place to stay while doing things in the area.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    26
    26
    24
    20
See reviews for
53
17
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

This was the third of three budget hotels we booked in a Delaware - Virginia tour. This is the Super 8 in Christiansburg/Blacksburg on Laurel street - NOT the one in Christiansburg which looks like a tudor style building. So the reviewer who commented on the "log cabin" charm likely had the wrong place in mind when she (and apparently others) lambasted this hotel.

On the contrary, not only was this place really clean, they had many upgrades at a much cheaper rate than any of our other hotel stays. These included microwaves & refrigerators in the room as well as complimentary laundry bags, on site laundry facilities, shampoos and soaps, great tv, clean large bathrooms, comfortable beds with great fluffy pillows. They provided coffee makers in the rooms in addition to a full continental breakfast in the morning which included hot oatmeal, cold cereal, fruit, English muffins, bagels, cream cheese, jam spreads, juice, coffee, tea, blueberry muffins, all type of coffee sweeteners, half and half, skim milk. There were no diesel trucks or parking for any in the middle of the motel as one reviewer wrote.

I made the mistake and went to the other Super 8 (the "log cabinney" styled one) as it's the first one you see when you come off the highway and they just handed me preprinted directions to the correct one on Laurel street when we couldn't find my booking- which was the one I had actually booked.

  • Liked — What you get exceeds the budget price. AND it's CLEAN!
  • Disliked — Late check in (they wanted to make sure everything was clean - probably because of the wrong reviews)
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

The motel was very very clean, which was about all we needed. We arrived after 9 pm and left at 7:30 am so basically just slept. The breakfast was just dry cereal, English muffin or sweet roll. The coffee both in the room and at breakfast was very weak. Yuck. The staff were very friendly both when I called for info and when we arrived and left. We suggest you ask for a room away from the road; we were one room in from the road and it was a bit noisy when a large truck went by.
The wireless internet worked like a charm!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

First of all, when we arrived there were only smoking rooms left even though we reserved 2 non-smoking rooms. They blamed it on the general reservation system, that we should have called directly (even though I had a confirmation). They did what they could to accomodate us and gave us $5 off per room. The rooms were shabby, they were not dirty, they had been cleaned, but they had worn in dirt look. They also had a musty smell. I saw no cockroaches or dirty linens (they were clean). The breakfast was bare bones, cereal, frozen type bagels, that sort of thing, you could get by on it. The coffee was okay. When I checked out they did try to charge me $1+ per room for a safe that is in each room, I argued and they took it off. Overall, I felt it was clean enough to spend a night here, but I personally wouldn't go back unless I was desperate. We were looking at colleges and I thought that it was closer to VT than some of the other motels (somewhere it said it was close) it was as close as most of the others, so that was no advantage.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2007

I have stayed in this hotel since the year it was built. The property itself has aged, but the customer service at this hotel is what has always brought us back. We usually stay between 2 and 10 nights per year. I just called to make my reservations for this fall, and have found out that they are changing their policy to require a 2 night minimum stay for VT football weekends. They have also raised the prices significantly this year. I am sad to do this, but I think I will need to find another hotel where they are willing to be more flexible. I hope they reconsider this policy!

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this motel for one night on route to Tennessee. We had a coupon from those magazines you get at the rest areas. The outside looked decent and the lobby was clean. Since we were only staying for a few hours I wasnt looking for anything special just a clean motel with a continental breakfast. When I got to my room I immediately was concerned. The floor looked like it hadnt been vacumed and it had a smokey smell to it, although it was a non smoking room. I also had my 7 year old daughter and my mother in law with me and it was late and we were all very tired. Although I felt the room was sub standard I didnt want to make a big deal out of it. After I got ready for bed I pulled down the covers only to find long brown hairs on the sheets. It was disgusting. It was obvious that the sheets had never been changed. I also noticed that by the bed platform there was sunflower seeds and doritos chips. I went to the manager and he apologized and changed our room. This room appeared cleaner( the floors were vacumed) but the room still smelled. The next morning my husband told me he was pretty sure he saw a cockrouch in the bathroom during the night. My mother in law had went to the free breakfast and brought me back coffee, which was terrible, then as my husband was drying off after showering I heard him groan with disgust. He showed me the towel he was using to dry himself with and it had brown dirt all over it. I went to the manager with the towel and complained. He stated that the maid wasnt very good and refunded 1/2 my money. I didnt expect much from a Super 8, just a clean room and hopefully a decent cup of coffee in the morning. What I got was the filthiest motel I have ever stayed at. It was shameful. My husband and I travel frequently by car and have stayed at many motels off the interstates, but I have never seen such a filthy motel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Address: 55 Laurel Street Northeast, I-81 Exit 118, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg Hotel Christiansburg
Super Eight Christiansburg
Christiansburg Super Eight
Christiansburg Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.