We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in early, or find another option..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg to your Saves list
Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   55 Laurel Street Northeast, I-81 Exit 118, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Tokyo
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Check in early, or find another option..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Firstly, I always write to inform fellow travelers about options and compare my experiences only against local options. In this case, we stopped halfway on a long drive North. Being a Wyndham collection member, Super8's always provide very easy accommodations while on the road. We booked this hotel, asking for a King room, and arrived just after 9pm.

Upon checking in, we were asked if we truly wanted a King room, as the only one left was directly across from the front door of a loud nightclub/bar/country tavern(?) or sorts. We hesitantly said "Yes" because they had no other options above Double beds.

In what I suppose was helpful, was the level of noise the heater created, as it drowned out some of the music coming from across the parking lot. But we could hear/feel the music, well after 12am.

As a member of this hotel's parent club, I am disappointed in their offerings. I'm not above other customers, but when a hotel has a reservation for a King room, perhaps save one that's not in the absolute worst location in the entire hotel?

Their complementary breakfast was, as always, quick and available, however, the room was tiny. With three people already seated inside, there was little room even to prepare our breakfasts. On the plus side, they had cinnamon rolls!

I do believe these very economical hotels, like Super8, do a great service and job, providing a place to sleep on the cheap, but when it comes to Christiansburg/Blacksburg, you may want to consider another option.

I travel all over the world and my expectations are always adjusted to my current situation. I don't expect fancy when paying for no frills. But in this case, I was left, wide awake, past midnight, wishing we had kept driving. I've read other reviews and I know this wasn't malicious or even negligent, it just wasn't pleasant.

(Sorry, no pictures.)

Room Tip: Check in early or request a room FAR AWAY from the entrance to their neighboring bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    25
    24
    20
See reviews for
50
16
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My title says it all. The price is low, service, breakfast, rooms are top notch. I lived here for a month and the staff treated me like family. They will bend over backward to make your stay the best. I miss you guys!

Room Tip: I only stayed in two diff ones but there is no noise and the rooms are so comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were traveling with my son's dog and needed to stay at a pet friendly hotel. This was fine for that situation. We were only there for one night but found everything to be clean and fairly quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I reserved 4 rooms in March for the graduation weekend, and then became concerned when such negative reviews began showing up here. After contacting corporate Super 8, the manager called to reassure me of the hotel's condition and staff. Among the four rooms, there were NO issues with the cleanliness, maintenance or conditions of the room fixtures or furniture. I don't know what these other guests were talking about. We had an issue with noisy neighbors (3 rooms surrounding one of ours) on the first night, but were graciously and immediately moved to another room as soon as it was brought to the attention of the front desk. The continental breakfast is just that- if you want bacon and eggs, go to one of the many places to eat just down the street. Very conveniently located near shopping malls and many restaurants. The bed was comfortable with a mattress pillow topper and a variety of pillow choices. The bathrooms were clean and functional. If you want Hilton- pay for Hilton. If you want reasonable rates, please be realistic in your expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGH POINT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The bed sinks down on the side close to window.
Water line to comode broke during the nite wet floor and carpet forget to tell them at front desk. I turn water off under comode.I got up to use the bathroom when I found the water running at 2:30 am.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg

Address: 55 Laurel Street Northeast, I-81 Exit 118, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg Hotel Christiansburg
Super Eight Christiansburg
Christiansburg Super Eight
Christiansburg Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Christiansburg/Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.