We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6273 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Quality Inn Chincoteague)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Baltimore MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The room was spacious and clean (including the bathroom), the bed were comfortable, the breakfast was generous and good, staff was friendly and helpful, the location is good. It does not come with a view but for the price it offers a very good value and quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    79
    26
    17
    16
See reviews for
82
63
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We couldn't find a room prior to traveling so were just going to stop for the day. Lucked out that they had 2 rooms and allowed our little 7 lb dog. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful giving us idea's on what to do and were to eat. Rooms were very big and CLEAN. Beds are very comfortable and 4 nice fluffy pilows. Breakfast was the usual waffles, boiled eggs, muffins etc. The breakfast person was very cheerful she must be a morning person. The only negative thing I find is you could hear footsteps from the second floor. This didn't bother any one else but I sleep with ear plugs since I hear a drop of a pin!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Second time staying at the establishment. It is a pet friendly hotel, which is a real plus! We required an extra rollaway bed, which the website said was offered. We had some problems getting it at first; staff stating it wasn't available. Finally we got one, but for an additional $20 a night.

Breakfast was poor. Not a lot of options and very crowded in the seating area.

Room Tip: The suite was very nice, but the wifi would not pick up. Rooms closer to the office had better perfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a weekend in Chincoteague at the end of Pony Week. This was our second stay at this hotel; we spent a weekend here before when it still had been a Quality Inn. I had some concerns about the change in franchise but was pleased to find that not much had changed at all. It was still a nice property at nice prices.

One of the best things about this hotel is Lightning, the Chincoteague pony who lives on-site. He's very friendly and we love visiting with him. The people who work on-site are pretty great too; staff is friendly and provide efficient service. Other plusses are that two ice cream places are right down the street in walking distance!

Check-in went smoothly; we had a king room on the second floor that was very quiet. The room key is a little tricky so pay attention when the front desk staff demo it. Our room was spacious and clean; bed was big and comfy with lots of pillows. One minus was that the tv was older and the picture was kind of snowy but we didn't spend much time watching tv anyway. No problems with wi-fi, refrigerator or A/C. The bathroom was clean but the water pressure was a little off. Some other issues were some damage on one wall and some peeling paint, a newer shower curtain would have been nice and shower curtain bar was a little loose. So, some touch ups in the bathroom were in order...Also, I think since it's a Rodeway now, you'll need to bring your own lotion or shower cap as these are not offered.

The location is really convenient; cute shops and restaurants nearby plus two mini golf courses and bicycle/scoot coupe/scooter rental places right down the street. Another amenity is that you can rent a scooter via the front desk right at the hotel, which we did. My boyfriend likes swimming in the outdoor pool.

There is a nice continental breakfast with a few hot items; unfortunately, the breakfast area is kind of small so it fills up fast and can get pretty crowded. However, there is outdoor seating if you like sitting outside. The breakfast attendant was very friendly and accomodating; she was busy keeping up with restocking and cleaning. Our check out went smoothly.

There aren't a lot of frills but If you plan on spending more time at the beach or in town and want a reasonably priced place that is clean and convenient, Rodeway Inn is right for you. We'll know we'llbe back!

Room Tip: There's no elevator so if you have problems with stairs, be sure to ask for a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great management handled any issue with speed. very comfortable beds. cleaning ladys were great. kept wife informed of island activitys. Passed up a cheaper hotel to stay here, close to great food and short drive to beach.

Room Tip: like first floor less problem with luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We especially enjoyed all the fluffy pillows on our beds. We had adjoining bedrooms with our little grandson. We weren't far from entrance to the beach and quaint shops and restaurants were nearby. Staff was very informative and friendly. Pool is a little old but very clean and we enjoyed the lounge chairs. Grandson enjoyed the fountain. Continental breakfast lovely. Not only did we enjoy the ocean and the beach, we also enjoyed surf fishing on the beach (bait & tackle shop was just down Maddox Blvd.). Information Center is also on Maddox Blvd. We had a wonderful stay and next time we'll come when the Pony Swim takes place the last week in July.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

In addition to the service, I always seek for a place that is clean and comfy. The Rodeway Inn at Chincoteague Island is that place and more.

My wife had several requirements for our child and us to spend in a hotel, after research she chose the Roadway Inn hotel. Somehow the reservation company told her that check-in time was at 3pm (something that did not make sense to me).

We entered the island around 11am and after leaving the tourist center I decided that It could not be right to wait until that time.
As soon as I entered the hotel, I was received very cordially and the gentleman at the front desk (sorry I’ve forgotten his name) was very helpful while getting the reservation name, and explaining the process for our stay, in detail even informing us the way the electronic key should be inserted.

They also provide a military discount and the stuff is very helpful. As I had driven three hours to get there, my ice box ran low. They have an ice box that will provide all the ice you need.

The parking lot is spacious, the room very clean and with all the supplies needed to have a pleasant time while in the room.
Breakfast was delicious with cereal, eggs, juices, coffee, muffins, make your own waffles, toasts and more.

Overall, I got a great deal and a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 6273 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Quality Inn Chincoteague)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn, a hotel in Chincoteague VA near Assateague Island National SeashoreIdeally located in the center of town, the Rodeway Inn® hotel offers easy access to many exciting things to do and see. This Chincoteague, VA hotel is close to the Oyster and Maritime Museum, the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, the Assateague Lighthouse and the NASA Visitor Center, Wallops Flight Facility. Assateague Island National Seashore is an amazing destination, offering pristine beaches and plenty of activities like swimming, surfing, shell collecting, biking, hiking, fishing and much more. During your visit, keep your eyes peeled for some of the island's beautiful wild horses. You won't know what to do first in this charming, seaside town: rent a bicycle, scooter or boat, or take a stroll through town and enjoy the many specialty shops, art galleries and restaurants. The local seasonal Island Trolley offers transportation around the area and is easily accessible from the hotel. This Chincoteague, VA hotel offers fabulous amenities and features, including: •Free continental breakfast with hot items & free coffee •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free local calls •Seasonal outdoor pool •Exercise room After a busy day of work or play, enjoy our picnic area with barbecue grills. Business travelers to this Virginia hotel will welcome additional conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy services. All spacious guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Non-smoking and pet-friendly rooms are offered. Be sure to ask about our cozy, cedar-lined cabin rooms. Ample parking and laundry facilities are provided on the premises for added guest convenience. The next time your travels bring you to the beautiful Virginia Eastern shore, the Rodeway Inn hotel in Chincoteague offers you everything you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Chincoteague Island
Quality Inn Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.