We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6273 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Quality Inn Chincoteague)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value, room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and had a good stay. Room was pretty spacious, clean. Decent bathroom. Great king bed. A good place to call it a night after a day out in the beach. Breakfast was so-so, coffee was okay. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your review and compliments. We are pleased that your stay was to your liking and that you enjoyed the overall experience. We hope to see you again in the future and please be sure to tell your friends and family about us!

Best Regards,
Harry V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    79
    26
    17
    16
See reviews for
82
63
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I checked around various places and the Roadway Inn quoted me at $75.00 a night. I verified this several times as I had a few questions about the billing. When I checked out they charged me $95.00 a night! Of course I argued these charges but nothing was done. Plus they don't give you any kind of receipt until you check out so it's not like you have any proof except a verbal quote. I would demand something in writing upon arrival before getting the room. ALSO, I found a bag from the previous guests on the floor at the base of my bed which was hidden by the comforter. This was found after a 5 day stay! Obviously the housekeepers never removed the comforter which has me wondering just how well the room was cleaned and whether they even changed the sheets! And the pool was pretty dirty- it wasn't cleaned at all during the week I was there- debris floating on the top of the water.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't say Roadway Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Mr. Matthew,

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We would like to explain again that there is a slight rate difference between our standard and deluxe rooms. Our front desk clerk did explain the rate difference between them and quote back your options for both rates; you signed the registration card and agreed to the deluxe room rate. The rate was clearly pointed out and initialed by you. Due to the miscommunication we did refund you the partial difference. We are more than happy to provide you with your initialed copy of the registration card, by either mail or fax. We hope to see you again in the future. We do invite all guests at check-in to ask for a copy of the registration card with the visible rate on it to avoid any further concerns. Also, we do sincerely apologize for the room and pool’s condition. Thank you again for bringing it to our attention; we will definitely work hard to improve, and make sure that your future stays with us are beyond reproach.

Best Regards,

Harry V.

(Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

It's our first trip in Chincoteague and I can't say anything bad about it. It's a last minute decision and it's been a great choice. Adequate amenities and top service

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Room was clean! They accept dogs which is why we chose this Inn. Some tiles around the tub are loose. Very, very basic continental breakfast. The only negative was the wi-fi signal was not strong and. Ouldnotaccess certain web sites. Especially with an ipad

Room Tip: Great if you travel with your dog! Be prepared for a weak wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perryville, MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a very comfortable, conveniently located, moderately priced motel with a great pool area. Couldn't give it excellent only because, well, it's a resort motel, not a 5 Star luxury hotel. If you're a hotel snob this might not be for you. Staff was friendly and efficient at check-in. Fridge and mic in room. Hot shower. Breakfast area can get busy on weekend mornings so get there early to avoid the crowd. Loved the pool with two cabanas. Nice "porch" area in front of rooms was a good hangout for our group. This is our third year and we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chincoteaguequality, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you so much for you kind words. As always our staff is eager to make each visit a pleasant and memorable experience for our guests. Because our continental breakfast is so popular, there are already plans to expand the breakfast area. You can expect to see accomodating changes in the very near future. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely, Cindy Sheppard, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manassas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Rodeway Inn is a upscale budget hotel so you'll find attractive accommodations at a great price. This is a nice place to stay. The rooms are have more space than most hotels. Small frig and a microwave to can save a little money on eating. The location is a good mid way location on the island so its not far to go any place on the island. Upon check in we were greated with a smile that lasted thru out our stay. Some hotels on the island are closed in the winter months,This is a place that stays open thru out the year.We were verry happy with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chincoteaguequality, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
What a nice review you gave us...Thank you!
We always strive for excellent customer service!

All our employees are commited to making your stay with us comfortable. We have been known to go "above and beyond" for our guests.

Again, thanks so much....we hope to see you again in the future

Sincerely, Janet, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because they are dog friendly and so did a lot of fellow travelers. The surrounding lawn and private room entrances made it a perfect spot for those traveling with a dog too. They rooms were clean and the staff was super friendly and made sure we had everything we needed after we settled into the room. The wi-fi worked fine, the breakfast was ideal and a step above the average hotel breakfast with hot food provided as well as the normal continental breakfast options. Also the breakfast hours went until 10am which was convenient. For an older hotel in this price range in a beach town, I thought they did a good job and Rodeway...thank you for your dog policy!!..that is smart business!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chincoteaguequality, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
First of all thank you for your great comments! Our guests are very important to us and we enjoy providing a comfortable home away from home for you.

Second, you are very welcome. It is our pleasure to welcome your dogs to our hotel! I too, travel with my dogs and always found it difficult to find good hotels that will allow us to stay. And, more and more of us are traveling with our pets!

Again, thank you...I hope we will see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Janet, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 6273 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Quality Inn Chincoteague)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn, a hotel in Chincoteague VA near Assateague Island National SeashoreIdeally located in the center of town, the Rodeway Inn® hotel offers easy access to many exciting things to do and see. This Chincoteague, VA hotel is close to the Oyster and Maritime Museum, the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, the Assateague Lighthouse and the NASA Visitor Center, Wallops Flight Facility. Assateague Island National Seashore is an amazing destination, offering pristine beaches and plenty of activities like swimming, surfing, shell collecting, biking, hiking, fishing and much more. During your visit, keep your eyes peeled for some of the island's beautiful wild horses. You won't know what to do first in this charming, seaside town: rent a bicycle, scooter or boat, or take a stroll through town and enjoy the many specialty shops, art galleries and restaurants. The local seasonal Island Trolley offers transportation around the area and is easily accessible from the hotel. This Chincoteague, VA hotel offers fabulous amenities and features, including: •Free continental breakfast with hot items & free coffee •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free local calls •Seasonal outdoor pool •Exercise room After a busy day of work or play, enjoy our picnic area with barbecue grills. Business travelers to this Virginia hotel will welcome additional conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy services. All spacious guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Non-smoking and pet-friendly rooms are offered. Be sure to ask about our cozy, cedar-lined cabin rooms. Ample parking and laundry facilities are provided on the premises for added guest convenience. The next time your travels bring you to the beautiful Virginia Eastern shore, the Rodeway Inn hotel in Chincoteague offers you everything you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Chincoteague Island
Quality Inn Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.