We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don's Seafood Restaurant

Don's Seafood Restaurant
4113 Main, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
757-336-5715
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Their soup and salad bar is fabulous, great homemade soups. My husband loved his oyster sandwich . Nice place to visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    189
    128
    53
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Late Dinner on September 29, 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I ordered the crab imperial. It was really good and the portion was huge. I only got to eat half of my meal and the rest I took home. The service was really good too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A very popular restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our dinners were okay but nothing special. The restaurant was very busy due to Biker Weekend in nearby Ocean City. Our server went out of her way to get me the dessert I really wanted but that was "sold out". Prices were medium.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great "red" clam chowder.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for lunch an d were not really hungry. We both ordered the clam red chowder (we call it Manhatten style). It was delicious and more than enough to satisfy us. Waitress was wonderful and people were nice. We plan in returning for diner while here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don's Does It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The day after a disappointing experience at a nearby seafood establishment, we gave Don's a try, and enjoyed it so much that we returned three more times in as many days. Don's Seafood Restaurant has been at the same location on Main Street in Chincoteague for over forty years, and they do seafood right.

Don's is a comfortable unpretentious eatery that serves very fresh local seafood prepared expertly. In our four visits my wife and I had the opportunity to sample various dishes, all of which were excellent. I found the red (manhattan) clam chowder to be the best I've ever tasted, and I've eaten a lot of chowder in my life. And as far as crabs, oysters, and rockfish are concerned, they could not have been done any better, anywhere, than they were at Don's. Simply prepared in the traditional 'teager' manner, they were fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed each meal we had there, which is why we kept returning.

The servers were professional, competent, and friendly (especially Heather, who waited on us twice). For good, honest, Chincoteague cooking, reasonably priced and prepared perfectly, Don's does it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Don's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.