We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy spot and delicious seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don's Seafood Restaurant

Don's Seafood Restaurant
4113 Main, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
757-336-5715
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Hickory Hills, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy spot and delicious seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We enjoyed two delicious, fresh fish dinners at Don's and would definitely go back. Service was friendly, the salad bar was great, especially the broccoli salad, dinner rolls were warm, and the fish and crab were excellent. Nice place to eat, lots of menu choices, good location, and reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    189
    128
    53
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“AWESOME Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I am not sure why people are posting such bad comments, The staff greed us with a smile and warm hearts, the shrimp and oysters on the half shell are fresh and one of the best I have ever had. The Bride stated the crab balls are BETTER than the Maryland cracked she has had, he scallops were also fresh and HARD not to steal off her plate, glad she could not eat them all. If you don't eat here you don't know what you are missing, I travel from Va Beach to Wilmington NC and to MD, not to mention Delaware, seafood is a must for me, there are 3 places that are a must for me, here at Don's, The Shuck'n Shack in Carolina Beach and Sam & Omnies in Nag Head, if in doubt always ask the locals, they know the best places, had I went by the reviews we would have missed a AWESOME place to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Clams & Oysters He Cultivates Himself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had delicious soft shell crabs, my friend had crab cakes - she said no filler & very good. Her kids had cheeseburgers which we tasted - I finished the uneaten one it was so good. (I hadn't eaten all day!)
I went back 2 days later - had steamed clams & fresh oysters - both great. more reasonably priced than Bill's & far more tasty & reasonably priced than Steamers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food year round!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Don's is a great destination for fresh seafood. Located right on the dock, it's a favorite with visitors and locals alike! Family atmosphere, pleasant wait staff and good selection of menu items. I've never had a bad meal here!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best seafood value on the island!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

On our final night on the island, we went to Don's. Awesome food for a reasonable price. I not only finished my meal but I stole from everyone else's plate. Left stuffed and satisfied.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Don's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.