We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Days Inn, Chincoteague Island, VA is a quaint hotel located...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Chincoteague Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Chincoteague Island to your Saves list
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7020 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Blue Heron Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chincoteague
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Days Inn, Chincoteague Island, VA is a quaint hotel located...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Days Inn, Chincoteague Island, VA is a quaint hotel located in a quiet area of this beautiful island. Stayed during the winter and the room was very cold upon arrival. Took a couple hours for the heat to warm up the room and the heat was difficult to regulate. The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous. Did not use any outdoor features since it was winter time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajip0001, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank You for your review




Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    57
    55
    23
    17
See reviews for
95
65
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oak hill va
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough great thing about our stay at this hotel. We arrived one day early and called when we were about 2 hours away to see if we could be accommodated the day early, and we were without any problem. We were given a unit on the top floor, witch was spectacular. The minute my husband and I opened the door to the unit, it was the cleanest place I have stayed in forever. This was great place , I will definitely stay again, and highly recommend it. I have not one negative thing to say about Days Inn at all ! So go on down to Chincoteague island and see for yourself, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The good parts outweigh the bad. The hotel is located near the causeway to Assateague Island, where the ponies actually are, as well as the wildlife refuge and beach. You can walk, rent bikes from several local vendors, or drive. We split between walking and driving.

The first big thing for us was the friendliness of the night desk clerk. We arrived later than planned and, as it turned out, just in time as they were about to close the island to traffic due to a rocket launch on Wallops Island. The desk clerk explained what was going on, and then invited us to join her and a friend to walk with them to a viewing point to watch the launch! We took them up on it and were so glad we did.

Our room was clean and neat, but it was obviously an older hotel (formerly The Blue Heron Inn). The refrigerator and microwave were a plus. The continental breakfast was very nice too, with cereal and waffles as well as other foods. There was coffee available around the clock as well. We also noticed there were neighborhood cats that hung around, and since my husband and I are cat lovers, we really enjoyed seeing them cared for.

The bad part: apparently there was a sewage problem the weekend we stayed. We noticed a faint smell in our room that just didn't quit, we ended up getting an air freshener spray. The next morning after our arrival my husband noticed that the line was dug up near the hotel and there was a strong smell. No work was done while we were there (Friday through Monday) and we didn't think to ask what was going on, we were only in our room for short periods of time anyhow.

Overall, I think we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Given the price, I didn't have high expectations. The price really is unbeatable in the off-season. Be prepared for a possibly musty smelling room with mildew on the bathroom ceiling. This is not a place for anyone with allergies! Stayed two nights--the dirty towels were removed from the bathroom but beds were unmade and no fresh towels were left....made me question the overall cleanliness of the place. (Owner apologized that the housekeeper missed some rooms that day)

The location is ideal for people wanting quick access to the Refuge and the beach. I think this motel would be a great place to stay if a little extra time was put into cleaning and sprucing things up. There were no mirrors in the room and walls showed evidence that things had been taken down.

Again, given the price, I have no complaints about the breakfast. There were eggs, sausage and potatoes as well as waffles (very fresh because you made them yourself!). There was cereal, bagels, bread and pastries. Some had clearly been frozen but I wouldn't expect fresh baked pastries for this price! It would be nice to have yogurt, though.

I hope that some time will be put into thoroughly cleaning and doing some basic sprucing up of the rooms. If that is done, this will be a very acceptable motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajip0001, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
sorry for the inconvenient bur the hotel is getting renovated

Thank You
Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chincoteague Island

Address: 7020 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Blue Heron Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chincoteague Island 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Chincoteague Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Chincoteague Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.