We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for One nights stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Chincoteague Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Chincoteague Island to your Saves list
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7020 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Blue Heron Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good for One nights stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Let me start my review by saying as the title indicates, we stayed at Days Inn for one night. We paid less than half of what the other hotels were asking. So for that reason alone I would stay there again for another one night stay and rated it average.I would have given it 2 1/2 stars if I could have.
I would not stay there longer as I feel the other hotels offer more amenities and nicer accommodation and would pay the higher price.

Having said all that, here is my critique. The room is small. They try to fill it with what you would want/need (table, 2 over sized chairs, bed,1 dresser, refrigerator & microwave.) However, the chairs are too low to be used at the table and there is really no room to move the chairs out and use them. If you enjoy relaxing in front of the tv and have become accustom to a flat screen or at least a very large screen then you will be disappointed. An old fashion "box" tv is what is provided.
The lighting is poor especially to apply make up. Gives off a yellow hue and not bright. There was no blow dryer in the room but you could get one from the front desk. The comforter on the bed was THICK & heavy. Interesting choice for a beach resort. Too hot for us even on a rainy,mid 60's night. There was also plastic on the mattress. Not a plastic mattress cover, but actual plastic. Like they forgot to remove it when it was delivered. It made a lot of noise every time you turned over. The bed itself was very firm. Too firm for me, but thats just me.

This hotel use to be the Blue Heron. It seems that they slapped on a coat of new paint and changed the name but didnt renovate the property. There is no mention on the website or in the hotel that its a "work in progress" so I think it is what it is. In our room it looked like someone had hit the wall from outside and it had buckled inwards. It didn't effect anything but was noticeable. (Freshly painted over) There was a dry wall patch in the bathroom that was left unpainted. The bathroom door was warped to the point that it wouldnt close. But the BIGGEST concern/complaint was that while I was showering my boyfriend was shaving in the bathroom sink and turned on the water. The water that came out of the shower turned scolding!! Immediately. No warning by staff or in room that this could happen. Very dangerous! The paper products, kleenex and tp, were not of high quality. Very rough. Especially to an allergy affected nose.

A breakfast is included with the room. Its quite extensive, scrambled eggs, sausage, home fries, biscuits, cereal,waffles, danish, bagels and coffee. That is if you can get someone to fill them. It didnt seem that there was one person in charge of making sure that everything was refilled. You had to ask. That includes the coffee. And then those biscuits, they were hard rocks. They didnt feel frozen but were as hard as if they were. The girl just put them in the bin so I dont know how to explain that.

If you are looking for a one night stay, and then continue to offer this low, low price then I would give Days Inn a try. Maybe our room was an exception. But if you plan on spending alot of time in your room or are there for a week, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at our hotel! And, I do thank you for all your comments.... As with any hotel...we are continually up dating & changing! We just became a Days Inn the beginning of April and all the planned changes take a little bit of time....

As for the lack of breakfast attendant; she called off sick just before the start of breakfast,

The duvets are a light weight transitional...they keep you warm in the winter and cool in the summer...

AND...May I say....we have never had a water pressure problem like the one you described!!! I spoke to you several times during your stay and you never mentioned any problems! I do have to wonder about that....

Again, I am sorry you seemed to have all these issues...if we had known about any of them at any point during your stay..... they could have been addressed immediately!

Sincerely
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    57
    55
    23
    17
See reviews for
95
65
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meadville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

One of the closest hotels to the Ocean/beach and National Wildlife Refuge of Assateague Island. Cleaning staff was not super prompt nor did they seem to always vacuum. The pool wasn't heated and did not seem the cleanest. Breakfast was fairly good with a wide variety of choices. The staff was friendly.

Room Tip: No balconies as the website said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent review... We do appreciate all comments....

Since our the pool is seasonal, I would like to remind you the pool was not open when you were here last week..

HOWEVER, the pool did open today, 17 May 2013, for the season ... the pool is normally open from just before Memorial Day to the end of September weather permitting!!

Again, thank you ...we are happy you were satisfied with your stay in general and look forward to your return

Sincerely,
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Everyone from the manager to the maid were always friendly and helpful. Always asking if everything was OK. Rooms are very spacious and extremely clean. Hot breakfast every morning. Not just Donuts & Coffee. The aroma of Fresh Belgium Waffles fills the hallways. Entire motel inside & out is very well maintained. Motel is within walking distance of many restaurants, stores and Assateague Island. This was our 4th stay here. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
You have made us blush with excitement over this review!!!

We are truly happy when all of our guests are happy!!!

You (our guests) are our number one priority… and providing a warm, welcoming and clean atmosphere is tops with us!

Thanks again…….We hope we will see you again soon

Sincerely,
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our one night stay at the Days Inn in Chincoteague Island was pleasant and relaxing. After traveling from Nags Head on the Outer Banks, we decided to head for Chincoteague Island instead of going through the DC juggernaut of traffic. What a great choice this was! An unspoiled island town with a beach (Assateague Island) to rival any beach on the Atlantic coast. Our accommodations were superb with the best breakfast of our weeklong business/vacation. Best of all were the staff with their welcoming attitude and friendly demeanor. We're coming again when the water is warmer.

Paul and Felicia Weinberg

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! What a wonderful review!!!

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and our little Island! AND, we look forward to you returning soon...

Thanks again

Sincerely,
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Friendly, clean, quiet and nice warm breakfast. Great visit! Great location near the Wildlife refuge! Bring your bikes! Only disappointment was the advertised heated pool open year round...wasn't open year round:(

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for mentioning our wonderful HOT breakfast…we are very pleased that we are able to provide our guests with a great on-site meal to start your day!

I am sorry you were disappointed that our pool is a seasonal pool… since it is an outdoor pool it is unfortunitle4y not feasible to keep it open all year long…

However, we are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us otherwise.

Again, thank you.... we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were driving NJ to FL, it was late night. We choose days inn for our night hold. We definitely come back for vacation in summer. Clean, modern, well appointed rooms and common areas. The bed was comfortable. Very pleasant experience. Staff pleasant seem to love their jobs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your terrific review....Also, thanks for noticing how hard we work to make sure each of our guests are happy...because...We really do love our jobs!!!!

We are all looking forward to your return in the future

Sincerely,
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hi. Mid April stay was about 6 nights. Would have liked a bigger TV, but was good enough for the week. Scrambled eggs were supreme. Didn't even realize they had them until I peeked in the closed container that was keeping them nice and warm. Definitely good enough choices for breakfast. Appreciated being able to put the 3 kinds of cereal into my little bag so as not to spill in the car as I ventured out for the day. I cherish a quiet and good nights sleep and mentioned to Rachel I am a light sleeper so she put me in the quietest area possible. A bit off season so it was easy enough for her being that the Inn was not filled up. The word is out that this hard working young couple do there best to make your stay as good as possible. My fingers are tired so enough for now. Definitely recommend you stay at the Inn. Besides, the more we stay, the better our chances of upgrading the TV's. Yes,Yes,Yes!!! Louie

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn7020, Manager at Days Inn Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
On behalf of Rachael, Sam & I …THANK YOU! We appreciate your wonderful review!!!

We are also happy you enjoyed our breakfast!!! We are doing something different with having the full HOT breakfast on the property instead of off site…and…we have been getting such positive feedbacks!!

Hopefully, all our TV’S will be upgraded by mid to summers end…There is still so much we want to do for our guest comfort …

Thanks again, we will see you next year!!

Sincerely,
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chincoteague Island

Address: 7020 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Blue Heron Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chincoteague Island 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Chincoteague Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Chincoteague Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.