We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service started poor but the food redeemed it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Restaurant

Village Restaurant
576 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
(757) 336-5120
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Manassas Park, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service started poor but the food redeemed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This place has a great view if you can get seated in that area. Luckily we were and that helped as we waited 25 minutes for service.

They were extremely apologetic once they realized and comped a few things on our bill to make up for it.

The food is pretty typical for the area and it a bit stuck in a couple of decades ago as far as preparation goes. Lots of fried foods. However, I wasn't feeling seafood and got the filet. It was delicious!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    110
    61
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Went here for dinner o. Saturday night for Memorial Day weekend. We did not have reservations and although the restaurant was busy they were able to fit us in after a short wait. Our server Tammy was great. Even though she was extremely busy she managed to provide great service and also share a bit about the place she calls home. We left with full bellies and happy hearts. Considering going back tomorrow night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good variety, plenty of food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Atmosphere is nice as it overlooks a small creek. The portions are ample. Cream of crab soup filled the cup, was chocked full of crab, and the best priced soup we had. Stuffed flounder was large but probably would not order it fried again. Special was fried oysters with broiled stuffed shrimp for $21 according to our waitress, however was billed at $22.95. Oysters were a nice size but were rather bland (we found this to also be true at other local restaurants and were surprised at the lack os saltiness). May consider coming back on next trip.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Limited menu and high prices make poor combination”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our lunch-time waitress recommended this restaurant and told us they had a varied menu. That simply is not true. The Village devotes two entire pages to wine, and one page to its entrees. My mom had eaten seafood the night before and was led to believe there would be many other items to select from. Unless she wanted a huge steak, there simply was nothing. We had a nice table by a window where we watched a duck family float by, and that was the highlight of our meal. My coconut shrimp were large and plump but nearly burned. My mom did not like her French onion soup and described it as "watery." Nearly everything on the menu was $20 and up; if that does not concern you, then you might like the seafood. I just hope yours is not dried up.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best stuffed flounder ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We had a beautiful waterfront view and both of us ate the stuffed flounder, it was very fresh and the crabmeat was fabulous. The wine was a great value too. The fried calimari was great. Service was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Restaurant also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.