We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3913 Main Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My recent stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suite was great. I enjoyed the breakfast and the Bay front room was more than expected. This was my second stay. The first stay was in August. We really enjoyed the Restaurant on the property. The food there was great and we had the pleasure of meeting some local people. We were disappointed to see the Restaurant closed and the building abandoned. Hope to see something new there in the near future. We will be back.

Sincerely,
Ellen Miller

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you were able to enjoy your waterfront room. We are getting ready to replace the restaurant next door and hope to have it open by summer. We look forward to your next visit and hope that the restaurant will be completed by then for your enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    31
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
36
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Fairfield Inn & suites on Chincoteague is a property opened in July 2013 so relatively new and very clean. We arrived on a very windy day and the power was out but returned so we could check in and get settled. We were upgraded to a water view with lagoon-type setting. It was pleasant with a balcony and two chairs. Since it was chilly outside, we enjoyed seeing the seagulls from a distance. Located on Main Street so walkable to some restaurants and close to the bridge which goes off the island. Also, close enough (10 minute car ride) to the Atlantic Ocean which is part of a national park wetlands entrance. There was no entrance fee while we were there but in season may be different. We saw some cranes and the visitor center had some nice exhibits. Good breakfast including waffles, eggs, sausage, yogurt, pastries, fruit etc. with plenty of seating as the hotel was relatively quiet in late December. Pool is outdoors only. We made use of the two queen size beds with an extra chair or two but no couch in this room. Small refrig. available. Nice shower with plenty of water pressure and fan.

Room Tip: Upper floor with a water view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I apologize that you had to experience the power outage upon check in. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the views and wildlife while staying with us. We hope that your next visit will be just as enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I am writing this review on our second day of our stay at the Fairfield Inn on Chincoteague Island. Its a beautiful property close to the downtown area of Main Street. Walking distance to shops and several restaurants. The staff has been nothing short of excellent from our arrival through our stay. Its just after Christmas 2013 and there's not much open on the Island but the staff have offered places to go and suggested which restaurants are opened. The room was extremely nice, the balcony looked over the water and the view was spectacular. We would come back again. Recommended.

Room Tip: There's a hot breakfast available with lots to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so glad to hear that you found our property clean and the staff accommodating during your stay. With many shops and restaurants closed this time of year, we try and make sure we always have a current list of who is open and places that the guests can go to enjoy their time on the island. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Chincoteague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

A quick overnight stay here was really nice as it was mid-Dec and there weren't very many people staying there....basically had the place to ourselves The property is new so there isn't many things that aren't pristine. Our Bayfront king suite with balcony (we loved the single swinging access door) was excellent, even though at low tide it ought to be called a 'Mudflat View' !!!!!!! We're water people so mudflats, and the ducks that come with it, are fine for viewing. We're just glad the wind was off the ocean ;-) But that is expected in Chincoteague. The breakfast was also top notch and the location of the hotel was within walking distance of our dinner location and other shops. Service and value were fabulous, as was the mattress and all linens/towels.

Our only suggestion is that we would love to see an indoor pool here as the space launch activities at the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport and NASA/Wallops will keep people coming here during the winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed both your room and your water view. Thank you for your suggestion about the indoor pool. We are always trying to better the service and our hotel for our guests, and their suggestions help us do that. We hope to see you in Chincoteague again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn for two nights in September 2013. The hotel is in an excellent location, perfect for enjoying the beautiful seafront and exploring the charming town - there is plenty of free parking at the hotel and the majority of shops and restaurants are only five to ten minutes walk.

Every member of staff at this hotel is an absolute pleasure to deal with, right from the team at the front desk through to the kitchen and cleaning staff who buzz around at breakfast in the morning, making sure everyone has what they need. Special thanks and praise to Connie and Christy at reception who cannot do enough to make your time both at the hotel and in Chincoteague, enjoyable and memorable. Thank you!

We booked a double room which was lovely however we we slightly disappointed, bearing in mind the stunning shoreline location, that it did not have a balcony. When I enquired at reception about the cost to upgrade, we were allocated a beautiful junior suite with a large, comfortable bed, sitting area with flat-screen tv and a balcony overlooking the shore and bridge. All free of charge.....excellent customer service! The bathroom was spacious with a large double shower cubicle and lots of clean, fluffy towels. Overall, we were very impressed with the accommodation albeit we were slightly disturbed by the 'neighbours' due to the poor soundproofing described by other reviewers.

The swimming pool and sun deck are relatively small and partially shaded by the building, but comfortable loungers and stacks of clean towels make it a nice place to appreciate the weather.

The public areas of the hotel have a modern, airy feel and there are complimentary hot and cold drinks available all day in the dining area. The breakfast included in the room rate is excellent value and includes cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bread and pastries and a cooked selection.

In summary, an extremely pleasant stay - we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and if we are ever fortunate enough to return to Chincoteague, we will definitely stay at the Fairfield.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay back in September. I am so happy to hear that we were able to upgrade you to a room that better suited your needs during your stay. I am also happy to hear that the staff was accommodating and helpful during your stay with us. We hope that you will be back sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We visited this hotel shortly after it opened this past August. We loved it. It was clean comfortable and brand new. The service was outstanding and it was all that one should expect for a Marriott affiliated property. Chincoteague is a beautiful barrier island town that kept us busy for our short 3 day visit. The beaches offer plenty of space and are beautiful. We took a boat ride to see the wild ponies. That was spectacular and something that my 11 year old girls will never forget.

Room Tip: A room facing the water is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us back in August. I'm happy to hear that you found everything clean and the staff friendly. I'm so glad you were able to make memories that your daughter will never forget. We hope those memories will bring you back for another stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

As a frequent traveler to Chincoteague for work, I was looking forward to trying out the new Fairfield. There are many pros: the bed is super-comfortable, the room was not huge, but felt spacious and airy, thanks to the high ceilings and modern windows, the bathroom was large/modern, the decor of the entire hotel felt welcoming and the staff could not have been more friendly. The bayview is indeed not bayfront--one looks out over a relatively small stretch of water separating the hotel from the next building, but it is not a "cesspool" as described by a previous visitor. I think this guest must have happened to look outside when the tide had departed. I woke up early and enjoyed my coffee (good in-room brand) watching the ducks float outside my window, but as the morning progressed, the tide went out and the water turned into a bit of a swampy terrain--the good news is that the bay will return! That being said, the bayview is quite limited and you will not see broad expanses of the bay from this side of the hotel. (The same issue exists with the Hampton or Comfort Inns). The free breakfast offered many cold/hot choices and had plenty of space. The free wifi worked well. The only real con was the thin walls mention previously. Unfortunately I found myself having to share the murmuring voices and the tv noise from the room next door for several hours. The noise problem worsened when the couple turned to each other instead of the tv. Ugh. I'm all for love and sharing generally, but this was TMI. I tried to turn up the fan in the heating/cooling system on HIGH to block out the sounds, but unfortunately, I could not figure out to keep the fan running once the temp on the thermostat had been reached and it kept shutting off. I don't expect the Fairfield to do construction to make their walls thicker, but I would strongly advise them to find a way to add some "white noise" that can be turned way up to enable folks to tune out their neighbors. Guests come to a hotel chain like Fairfield for a bit of respite and luxury at a reasonable price (and all of this is more than available at this particular hotel), but the experience is lost when one is subjected to unexpected noise. I'll give this hotel another shot because I liked it so much, but being on the road is exhausting and I need to depend on getting a quiet night...

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the bay if you want to see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you found your room comfortable and that the staff was friendly during your stay. I sincerely apologize for the expeirence you had with your neighbors. We are working on finding a solution for this and hope to have something in place soon. We want to make sure all our guests are able to enjoy their stay and have a great nights sleep. I hope that this incident will not deter you from staying with us in the future as we work toward a solution. Once again thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. please contact me directly at ffi.sbyci.gm@marriott.com for any future reservation needs you have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island

Address: 3913 Main Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chincoteague Island's newest Waterfront hotel with beautiful views of the bay. We also offer banquet space next door at our sister property The Jacksopt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.