We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poseidon's Pantry Gourmet Grocery & Deli

Poseidon's Pantry Gourmet Grocery & Deli
6219 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Poseidon's Deli)
+1 757-336-6666
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Vegetarian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Description: Eat healthy... Or not! It's your choice at Poseidon's Pantry Gourmet Grocery & Deli. We specialize in delicious food and great service. We roast our own turkey and roast beef in the deli, and make all our soups, sides, dressings, and much more. Also, our deli is veggie-friendly and has several gluten-free options. The grocery has a great selection of gluten-free, organic, and vegetarian products, as well as wonderful cheeses, snacks, chocolate, coffee, bread, craft beer and affordable tasty wines.
ocean city
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great little gourmet sandwich takeout! The people that worked there were really friendly. The Green and Red (vegetarian) was really tasty and the Turkey Reuben was great also!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    30
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Need something bacon flavored or gluten free? Try this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a new one for Chincoteague. A gourmet foodie haven! You can peruse the shelf of bacon-flavored things (yes, they have a WHOLE shelf!!!). Or, you can find those gluten-free treats you so desire. Vegetarian? They have stuff for you! Need that tub of nutella? Got it here, too.

They also have great sandwiches, but I don't think they anticipated how popular their gourmet lunches would be -- and when we went in they told us it would be a 25 minute wait at the counter! My son grabbed one of their "grab and go" sandwiches with very very tasty Italian cold cuts. He said it was AWESOME. If they expand their grab and go sandwiches to include the more mundane things like roast beef or turkey they will make a killing for sure. In the meantime, best to call your order in ahead of time.

Anyhow, this place is worth checking out and the people who work here very very nice and I'm glad they have moved into our favorite beach town. They are a welcome contrast to the some times smelly grocery store across town!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessicaamorris
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fresh, clean, healthy little lunch gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My family of 6 (consisting of vegetarian, plus 2 kids, and meat eating hungry adults) ordered delicious soups, sandwiches. Food was made quickly. Came out fresh. Their a la cart shopping had some gourmet options to pick from. Great little place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Employees did not greet us when we came in and were not very friendly and the food left something to be desired.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoseidonsPantry, Owner at Poseidon's Pantry Gourmet Grocery & Deli, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
SuzieQ250: I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to Poseidon's Pantry. We pride ourselves on our friendliness and great service. I encourage you to try us again and let us make it up to you! Please come in and ask for me and we'll make you a fantastic sandwich, we promise! Sincerely, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperanceville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Sandwiches Around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Every sandwich I have tried here has been delicious! My favorite is the BLT with house-made pimento cheese, try it and you won't be disappointed! The bacon they use is made with a recipe that is over 200 years old and it is tasty. The best place on the island for a sandwich! They also have a nice, small selection of healthy foods. Staples you need but can't get at local grocery stores like Bragg's, coconut oil and kombucha.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poseidon's Pantry Gourmet Grocery & Deli also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Poseidon's Pantry Gourmet Grocery & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poseidon's Pantry Gourmet Grocery & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.