We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar none the best bait and tackle shop in the northeast US.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Steve's Bait and Tackle

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Captain Steve's Bait and Tackle
6527 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
(757) 336-0569
Website
Improve this listing
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bar none the best bait and tackle shop in the northeast US.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The best people you will ever run across work here. Not only do they have everything you need for fishing and the beach but the customer services is seriously like making new friends forever. Don't miss this spot while in Chincoteague.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Pool, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent most of our honeymoon there! Great prices for tackle - get your fishing license and hook up with a charter and you are ready to go!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool store and really helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

They were very helpful by recommending the best type of bait to use for fishing, and it did work great! We also bought a crab trap and gave us rope for us to use. Great store, has a lot of inventory, and the staff was very friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Helpful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband visits Captain Steve's at least 10 times while we're on the Island! The staff is very friendly and helpful. My husband would "talk fish" all day with these guys! They pointed us in the right direction when we asked about certain fish and baits. They also have a large variety of goods too. You can get your bait, tackle, sand toys, beach towels and sandals! A one stop shop!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Lanes, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“if you come here to fish you really should stop here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

they really try to help the fishermen catch fish and the advice is to be heeded. it is my opinion that they truly want to help the sportsmen out and not just try to make a sale. these guys know what they are talking about and if you listen to the advice they give the odds of catching fish or crabs is greatly enhanced. every person I met at captain steve's was friendly and they answered all my questions no matter how stupid they must have sounded. I will go back here every trip down without any hesitation!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Steve's Bait and Tackle also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Captain Steve's Bait and Tackle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Steve's Bait and Tackle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Captain Steve's Bait and Tackle to your Saves list