We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New to Chincoteague” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chincoteague Diner & Restaurant

Chincoteague Diner & Restaurant
7085 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
757-336-6005
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A family oriented diner featuring a full menu. We serve breakfast (all day) lunch and dinner and late night treats. Economically priced we feature a wide selection of omlets, waffles, pancakes and other breakfast specialties. Our entrees include a selection of seafood, Italian dishes and hearty diner classics. Kids are welcome and there are specials for them for breakfast and all meals. Be sure and check out our cakes, desserts, rice pudding and other desserts!
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New to Chincoteague”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were looking for the Sea Shell Cafe and its wonderful clam chowder. A new restaurant has taken its place: The Chincoteague Diner. We stopped for lunch on our way out of town, and enjoyed delicious, fresh sandwiches and the wait staff was very friendly and attentive. Try it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    77
    57
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is by far the best value for food on the island. Good (not super great) food, good service, large portions, fantastic prices. The only issue I have is the number of flies inside. The place is kept clean so I'm not sure where they are coming from. The owner says they come in through the single door but plans to enlarge the entrance by next Summer to provide a second door to greatly reduce flies entering. Even with the flies, it's a great value. Get it to go if the flies are a huge deal to you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nothing special, nothing bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

A diner tries to serve everyone's taste, and the result often is that the food is bland and unmemorable. Check that box here. The Chincoteague Diner has a comprehensive menu, but our party of three found no special flavors, no distinctive presentation, no new ideas. The food seemed fresh, the service was pleasant and the dining room feels new. But there's no particular character. Prices are fair. Let's hope the management figures out that even a diner should have an identity in a resort town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly good service and hood homemade food & desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Waiter(s) were friendly and food came out quick. There desserts were good as well had strawberry cheesecake and carrot cake.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Let down.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Came based on overall TA rating... Big bummer. Best thing was the side salad. It was all very "eh". We come to this area often, and we wont be back here. Nothing horrible... It just wasnt worth the money. Maybe if it were half the cost. Ordered stuffed mushrooms (lotta filler), jumbo fried shrimp (NOT jumbo). Menu is not as expansive as other reviews lead you to believe. This is most def not the best in Chincoteague. We will stick to other local haunts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chincoteague Diner & Restaurant also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Chincoteague Diner & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chincoteague Diner & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.