We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood to order” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gary Howard Seafood

Gary Howard Seafood
Deep Hole Road, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2712
757-336-5178
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seafood to order”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We always call here for our steamed crab order. Never been disappointed. They're good flavor, heavy and ready when you ask for them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    19
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Local goodness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Come for the seafood...not for a restaurant. Counter order...no seating. But we did find a small table outside to sit at. Food was fantastic! Soft shell crabs just like grandma used to make. Fried oysters...divine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjd
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Go for it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch. Had a fried oyster sandwich. It was outstanding. Briny and fresh! Great French fries also. Went back for dinner takeout. Scallops were outstanding but the fried clams were a little overlooked and tough. Great corn on the cob and hush puppies. Make sure you go here!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh, fresh, fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Love the food here - that's the bottom line. You cook it or have them cook it. Their prepared food is absolutely delicious and it's half the price of a restaurant. Ordered many times on our week long visit. My only critique is that they list a price for shucked oysters, but it was difficult (in comparison to a couple other places) to get them. We were told they needed 3 hours notice and that there was only one person who shucked (maybe Gary). But seriously, this place has great food!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I actually got lump crab to go. It was fresh, fresh, fresh. Well packed for travel. The best and freshest crab cakes I ever made.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gary Howard Seafood also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Gary Howard Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gary Howard Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.