We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gary Howard Seafood

Gary Howard Seafood
Deep Hole Road, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2712
757-336-5178
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We call ahead to have them cook our food and return to the hotel for dinner. We like it better then any of the local restaurants.
We also stop here on the way home to load up with fresh seafood. Bought the flounder, scallops, shrimp and oysters.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    19
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If the Locals go here its gooood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The take-out meal platters are a wonderful deal. We ate there two nights in a row with three people. The sides they offer changes everyday. Plus, if the fish of the day isn't your favorite ask for another! It was only $2.5 to get rockfish instead! The crab cakes were amazing, absolutely no filter. But go early, as we waited for our take out around 4 pm their phone rang constantly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This was a highlight of our vacation. Three times during the week I stopped by to pick up part of our dinner. One night we had steamed crabs. Another night I picked up the fresh local rock fish. It was amazing on the grill. We had some leftover and made it into a delicious fish salad for lunch the following day. As a treat on the last day we got local oysters on the half shell. Best, most tender, oysters I have ever had. And even better was that they prepare the oysters for you. $8 for a dozen! You can't beat it. The prices here are unbelievable and the seafood is out of this world fresh. The service is friendly and competent. Call ahead and the order will be waiting for you to pick up.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beyond expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I found this place by looking on line and reading reviews for local seafood establishments. Boy am I glad I did. We placed our take out order for shrimp and a dozen crabs and enjoyed them immensely. The crabs were full and the shrimp fresh and delicious. We will be ordering again before we leave.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best place to pick up fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was hoping to find The Spot for fresh seafood and finally did. Unfortunately it was on the last day of our stay but better late than never. You can get your food to go but can not eat there they have no tables. I had been looking for fresh local crabs and finally found them here for $8 a dozen (females) males which are slightly bigger $18 a dozen. Steamed,seasoned ready to go.Crabcakes were awesome much better than the bigger restaurants. Going back for 50 steamers for $13 later. Great food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gary Howard Seafood also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Gary Howard Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gary Howard Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.