We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to pick up fresh seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gary Howard Seafood

Gary Howard Seafood
Deep Hole Road, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2712
757-336-5178
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Newington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best place to pick up fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was hoping to find The Spot for fresh seafood and finally did. Unfortunately it was on the last day of our stay but better late than never. You can get your food to go but can not eat there they have no tables. I had been looking for fresh local crabs and finally found them here for $8 a dozen (females) males which are slightly bigger $18 a dozen. Steamed,seasoned ready to go.Crabcakes were awesome much better than the bigger restaurants. Going back for 50 steamers for $13 later. Great food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    19
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fish market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Out if the way, worth looking for, food is excellent, prices are reasonable, we had soft shelled crab, oysters, shrimp, excellent slaw, and fries

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best local place to get seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We come to Chincoteague every other year and always go to Gary Howard for our seafood needs. Whether you want to cook your own or have them cook/steam, it's ALL good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Day stop at the island on the way from Va. Beach to Annapolis. We had poor seafood at the beach and took a local recommendation for Gary Howards. We stopped in and ordered a fish sandwich and crab cake sandwich. Beyond delicious! Prices reasonable. They were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Had we been headed straight home we would have certainly taken seafood with us. Beautifully fresh and although not at all fancy, very clean. Made me wish we had a cottage for a few days and an opportunity to repeat visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Shrimptacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I tried a pound of Gary Howard's steamed shrimp on recommendation from a local and was I ever pleased! Tasty, tender and priced fairly for the quality! I thought their seasoning would be spicier than Old Bay by something that was mentioned, but found their medium to be more of a mild on the Old Bay scale of things. In the future I know to just let them put it on. SHRIMPTACULAR in Chincoteague Island, VA!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gary Howard Seafood also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Gary Howard Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gary Howard Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.