We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming museum, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Chincoteague

Museum of Chincoteague
7125 Maddox Blvd., P.O.Box 352, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
757-336-6117
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the entrance of Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, this museum chronicles the island's history and of the oystering and seafood business that was a major force in shaping the island's economy.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A charming museum, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our second trip to this museum, yet I still found new things to enjoy. Some may find it strange, but I actually love seeing Misty and Stormy, in all their taxidermy glory. This museum takes you right back and shows just how much there is to the history of the island--it's more than just a horse in a book. Plus, you can't beat the price. It was a wonderful escape on a rainy morning. The staff is so friendly and helpful. We'll probably stop by the next time we are on the island!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    46
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Misty is stuffed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I kind of had mixed feelings about seeing Misty of Chincoteague stuffed and on display. What I liked about the museum is that the day I visited, the author's children were telling about how their mother told a composite story about Misty. The author is still living and is 94. The museum has interesting pictures and displays about life on the island. Sears and Montgomery Ward sold build-your-own house kits and several of those homes are still seen on the island. There were pictures of,when the island had severe flooding. Good museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Great museum about Chincoteague and the area. Misty and Stormy are displayed here along with shipwreck artifacts and oyster farming info. Fun scavenger hunt also! Good for kids and adults, especially on rainy days.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for the admission price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My ten-year-old and fifteen-year-old and eighty-something year old mother and I all enjoyed the museum. There are exhibits about every aspect of Chincoteague's history, so there is something everyone will enjoy. The staff at the front desk were very cordial and even helped us with the Scavenger Hunt.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin,in
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very small museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The museum was so very small. What they did have was nice, enjoyed it. Not something younger children would enjoy. A lot of reading required.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Chincoteague also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Chincoteague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Chincoteague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.