We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend the Waterside Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waterside Inn to your Saves list
Waterside Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3761 Main St., P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Gift Certificates
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend the Waterside Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

We had visited Chincoteague and Assateague as a day trip while vacationing on the Eastern Shore. We ended up fininshing the week at Chincoteague and stayed at the Waterside Inn. We had a great view of the water in a very clean and nicely appointed room. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, swimming in waterside pool, strolling on the dock and eating seafood at the picnic tables while looking out at the water and sunset. It is a great spot for a family. I wish we had had more time to fish or crab off the dock, but we spent most of our time at the beach or pool. We preferred the location of the Waterside Inn because it was on the quieter end of Chincoteague. We hope to visit there next summer.

  • Liked — The views of the water from the pool and the room.
  • Disliked — Small area for breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    108
    17
    10
    12
See reviews for
116
177
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

We went for a week of rest and relaxation and we enjoyed every minute.

Staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean.
Was in walking distance from shops and restaurants.

Enjoyed the pool and watching the sun set on the bay.

Definitley would recommend staying here and I look forward to returning soon.

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snjmom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

The Waterside Inn was clean and comfortable. It is not a chain hotel. It's decor is somewhat dated, but it seemed very clean to us. It had everything we needed... small fridge, nice beds, beautiful view, small breakfast, operational ammenities (hairdryer, heat lamp in bath, refrig., suitcase stand, hangers, ironing board,) There were plenty of snack and soda machines stategically located, small microwave in snackroom & coin operated laundry. We loved the location on Chincoteague Island; the pool and dock were a highlight!! The heated pool is beautiful, ample, and open until 1:00am!! That was the best part of the accomodations. Plenty of off street parking. Overall, I would stay there again.... Gear up for a SMALL, PRIVATELY OWNED, MOTEL, not a big hotel chain with a glamourous lobby. If you are looking for a HAMPTON INN with big chandeliers, you may be disappointed. BUT as we looked at it, we were visiting a wildlife refuge and having somewhat of a "rugged" vacation, so the Hampton Inn looked "misplaced" on the island and family owned was more the style of the vacation.

  • Liked — Pool and location
  • Disliked — Decor / other travelers
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haymarket, va
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

I just completed my stay at the waterside inn. First, since I had my daughters with me they would not put me on third floor as I requested. Second, when I entered the room, I was hit with a strong scent of air freshener that was covering up a smokey smell. Third, there were about two dozens flies in our room! When I talked to the front desk about our issues, all they could offer me was an excuse about the weather causing the fly problem and a fly swatter! Last year I stayed at another hotel and wished I had been there this year as well.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

This property is a joy to visit. Each room has a private balcony overlooking the salt marsh and a wide channel, creating a soothing ambiance. The rooms are well designed, exceptionally clean and welcoming. The staff knows the meaning of customer service as few do any more! The Inn is lined with roses, tenderly cared for by the gracious owners who were good enough to share the "secret" formula for these lush, bloom-filled bushes. Prices reflect a great value for this Chincoteague gem. Don't miss the homemade waffles prepared for the Continental Breakfast. We went to Chincoteague to partake in some fresh local seafood, but next time we'll extend our stay to take advantage of all the special features offered by these great folks! Check out their site and know that the photos do not begin to do justice to this property.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — it was all good
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

I read the reviews here, so I probably expected to much.

While there I have nothing dramatic to complain about, there is nothing to rave about either.

The rooms were adequate, althought the bed and pillows were hard. The rug was old and felt sort of greasy.

There is a lovely balcony, but the marshy area below had a fair amount of trash.

The breakfast was not much to offer .. bad coffee, store bought muffins and doughnuts and one waffle maker. The space was cramped and not enough seating.

The pool was the highlight. Right on the water and very clean (if a bit over-chlorinated).

I loved the elevator, but couldn't take it often as it was 95 degrees outside and about 110 inside it.

Inexpensive and you get what you paid for.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

WOW - this place was everything and more!

My husband was in a serious accident over 7 months ago, just now started walking again.
Needless to say we were looking for just the right place to getaway and escape to.

Looking for:
Cleanliness, Friendly Staff, Relaxed Atmosphere, Great Price, Free Breakfast, WaterFront Balcony

We found it at:
Waterside Motor Inn

The entire place from the rooms to the hot tub - spotless!
We were welcomed on arrival and everymorning to friendly faces
The entire town was so relaxed, a way to slow down or in our case since we are already slowed down due, a way to stay at
our own pace.
Prices can't be beat, Free waffles, danishes, cereal, coffee, eat in the cozy lobby or take it to your room as we did and have breakfast waterfront every morning. Speaking of waterfront, each room has a private balcony overlooking the water.
So very peaceful!

I truly can not say enough good things about this location and the friendly staff.

We will return for sure.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Address: 3761 Main St., P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.