We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waterside Inn to your Saves list
Waterside Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3761 Main St., P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Gift Certificates
Hurley, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the waterside inn the week of June 16 2014. It was our first visit to Chincoteague Island. The staff was more than accommodating and exceptionally friendly and their recommendations enhanced our visit . Each morning we were treated to freshly made waffles coffee tea eggs biscuits gravy all the fixins. The waffles were amazing! I will be returning as soon as possible!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are so glad that you and your sister we able to enjoy some bonding time at the Waterside. It is fun for our staff to offer suggestions and ideas for things to see and do in the area. We enjoyed your visit and hope that you can return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    108
    17
    10
    12
See reviews for
117
177
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moravia, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. It is an older hotel but very clean and the staff couldn't have been nicer. They have breakfast each morning too. Nice waterside pool and a dock. Location is convenient on Main Street and you could walk if you wanted to. We had a great time.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room that overlooked the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write the review. Our staff works very hard to offer suggestions for eating options and things to do and our cleaning staff works very hard to provide a nice atmosphere for your vacation. Hope you return.to the Waterside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton va
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have visited this island almost every year since 2009, and have stayed here all but one time. This is a family owned business. Everyone is very nice, the staff are very attentive. You can't get better service, and the rate beats most chain hotels that have crept onto the island. The rooms are always very clean (without having a chemical/cleaning agent smell). Every room has a great view over the water, which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. The pool is open until 1am! The roses around the motel are beautiful-over 300 bushes, if I remember correctly! They have brochures in the office, but just ask and they can give you recommendations-they have never steered me wrong! and you have nice hot breakfast to start your days every morning. I will continue to go here whenever I am lucky enough to visit this beautiful little town and the ponies !

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here, but if you want a special treat, reserve one of the Diplomat rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. We really appreciate our regular customers. It is our pleasure to share our love of our Island and its uniqueness with people who take every opportunity to return. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We traveled to Waterside Inn by boat from Fenwick Island. It was so nice to have a place to stay where we could dock the boat. The staff couldn't have been more attentive. Pool was nice. The room was very clean and comfortable, it was nice to have the balcony with a nice Breeze off of the water. Breakfast was good with the staff working very hard.
I would return and would also highly recommend Waterside Inn

Room Tip: The trolley to get around town was a plus - and it's only 25 cents
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for the great review. I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of one of the unique amenities that the Waterside offers which is the ability to arrive by boat. The boat docking is included in your room and transportation around the Island is easy with the trolley which picks up in front of the hotel starting at 5:00 pm. As you pointed out it is only 25cents each time you get on the trolley. We are walking distance to the Historic Downtown (less than 1/2 mile) which has many restaurants and shops and bike rentals 2 blocks away. There are scooter and golf cart rentals as well as the bikes that can be ridden over to Assateague to see our beautiful beach. For boat owners it is a terrific opportunity to see our little part of the world from the beautiful waterways surrounding our Island. I hope that you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

While I did not find Chincoteague to be a great place to visit, the Waterside Inn is nice. We actually prefer staying oceanfront. This hotel is on the bay and the scenery is lovely. Rooms a bit small but clean. Comfortable bed and updated bathroom. The sunset view is spectacular! Can be watched from private balcony or from pier. Nice pool and hot tub. Friendly front desk staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Chincoteague is a quiet resort area and the beach is a government protected Wildlife refuge so there is nothing commercial there at all. May be you can return in the future and watch a rocket launch or the 4th of July fireworks from the balcony of your room. In any case it was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we appreciate that you took the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Beach, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at this charming Inn Saturday June 7, 2014 and it lived up to all my expectations and more!!

We met the owner and another wonderful girl at the check in desk and they couldn't have been any friendlier or more accommodating. We were allowed to check in early as our room was ready. .

The room was cozy and the view great. The furnishings included a love seat, table with 2 chairs and a Plantation style bed that was so comfortable. The deck had chairs and a table as well with wonderful waterviews as well.

Sunsets are a highlight there whether you sit at the pool, on the pier or watch from your deck. The pool is heated and even with the bay breezes you can swim. Although we didn't use the hottub located in a solarium with glass walls it was a nice touch.

The location is great. Convenient to shops and right on the water tucked away on Main Street provided easy access to the beach and restaurants as well.

A home style breakfast in the morning included wonderful home made sausage and gravy, fruit, waffles, juice and more. Trays were available for those who wanted to take their breakfasts to their rooms and there were tables both inside and out.

Bed & Breakfast or hotel???Waterside Inn is the best if both worlds. The personal attention and coziness of a Bed & Breakfast with the amenities and privacy of a hotel.

Our only complaint was that our trip was too short. We will be back again and often. I will recommend this Inn to friends and family alike and look forward to becoming a "regular". Thanks for making our weekend so enjoyable.

Room Tip: All the views are great from the deck rooms. Of course I would ask for the room on the 3rd floor wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much. This review is so great it seems like I could have written it myself. We are family owned and operated and take great pride in our customer service. I have to say that I think our customers are so nice it makes it easy to treat them well. It is great when our customers appreciate all of the little things that we do that add up to a memorable vacation experience. I am looking forward to your next visit with us almost as much as you are. I hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very clean and well maintained. Lots of beautiful rose bushes. Nice view of the sunset from their private pier where you can actually fish off without a license. Restaurants are close by. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We are very glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. All of the rooms have a waterfront balcony but the higher up you go the better the view. We do have an elevator so don't be afraid that you will have to climb steps. Sunsets are so beautiful this time of year and all of the restaurants are open for the season. I hope that you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Address: 3761 Main St., P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.