We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterside Inn - Southern comfort at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Inn

Save Saved
You added Waterside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterside Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3761 Main St., P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
August Blowout Savings
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Waterside Inn - Southern comfort at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

We have stayed at the Wateside Inn on many different occassions from long weekends to week long vacations. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and designed nicely. We found all the employees to be very friendly and helpful. You can see the most beautiful sunsets from your private balconies or if you like from the beautiful heated pool that sits on the waters edge. The pool is always kept clean with plenty of seating for sunbathing. You will also find picnic tables, barbecues, fish cleaning station and a private pier to fish, crab or dock your boat. They have everything you need for that great vacation. I also must mention that the gardens surrounding the hotel have the most beautiful roses that you have ever seen. We thoroughly enjoy staying here and plan on coming back as often as possible.

  • Liked — The convenience of having a refridgerator and microwave and most definately cleaniness.
  • Disliked — Cannot reply to this answer
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    92
    14
    9
    11
See reviews for
88
149
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

We rode our boat from Ocean City to Chincoteague. The Waterside Inn had slips for overnight guests. Very convenient. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms looked like they were recently remodeled. We enjoyed the pool area overlooking the waterway. The Inn is a few blocks from downtown, so getting around with no car was NOT a problem. The staff was very friendly.

  • Liked — Location; boat slips, closeness to downtown.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Pines, MD
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

Traveled by boat from Ocean City MD to Chicoteague VA. Docked and kept the boat at the Waterside Inn dock ( no extra charge). Spent quality time at the pool upon arrival. Walked easily into town for a wonderful dinner. Rooms had recently been updated with new carpet, new bed linens, new bathroom fixtures and tile and were in excellent ,clean condition. The roses around the Inn were fabulous and we enjoyed a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

We were able to get into our room really early since it had been empty the night before. They were very nice and friendly at this hotel. Our room was on the 3rd floor and the view was magnificent. It was very quiet, clean, and nicely decorated. The next morning we went to the lobby and had breakfast, the desk staff made our waffles for us and they had pastries, cereal, muffins, coffee and juice. Loved everything but having to leave.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

I stayed at Waterside last September, and have stayed there for the past 5 years. I love it! It was exactly what I was looking for - small town atmosphere, quiet, on the water, and beautiful sunsets right from your balcony. The people are always very pleasant to deal with and always very clean.

  • Liked — The views from the balcony
  • Disliked — Not Applicable
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

My fiance and I had stayed at the waterside in 2006 with his family and fell in love with the beautiful views, friendly staff, and the area around the hotel.
We knew we had to come back and stay again, so that is what we did in July of 2007. We were not dissapointed. The weather was great all but one day, so we took that day to go crabbing off of the hotels pier! There is even a place by the pool to grill and a picnic table to have dinner. The rooms are always clean and the service is probably one of the best that I have ever had.
We are planning our tris for 2008 and I can almost garuntee that we will be staying at the Waterside.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

My husband I and I stayed here for just one night, but we are definitely going to come back and stay again! The hotel staff were so nice and hospitable. We stayed in one of the third floor rooms with a king bed. All the rooms have balconies with a couple chairs and a small table and you can sit there and look out on the water and watch the sunset. The room was VERY clean and neat, very nicely decorated in nautical themes with blue and white. The bedspread was quite luxurious for a hotel, very soft and comfy, none of that nylon cheapy material. There was even a throw pillow on the bed with velvet and tassels. It was a really nice touch. The mattress was very comfortable, and firm (we like firm). There was a small love seat, a comfy chair and then also a small table and two chairs to sit and play cards or eat. Speaking of eating, while in Chincoteague, we had pizza from Famous Pizza, and honestly it was one of the best pizzas we had ever had. Homemade sauces and dough, family owned and run, it's a great place to order from.

A couple other things about the hotel that were nice is that the landscaping was kept up very well. There were gorgeous rose bushes all along the front and around the parking lot. The pool was lighted at night which looked like fun (it was a little too chilly for us to swim) and they have their own pier you can use to fish or just relax on.

We highly recommend the Waterside Inn!!

  • Liked — the view, the room, the hospitality, the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Address: 3761 Main St., P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.