We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Chincoteague Get-away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Waterside Inn to your Saves list
Waterside Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3761 Main St., P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 off room rate
KEYPORT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Chincoteague Get-away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at the Waterside. This was our second stay with them (last time 4 years ago). Location is great. Staff is friendly. Included breakfast a bonus and quite adequate. The pool area was clean and well maintained and the pool temp was very comfortable. The location on Main Street overlooking the bay is lovely. views from room balcony, the pool area and pier are really very nice. My husband and children crabbed and fished off the pier, we enjoyed the pool and exercise room. Easily walkable to shops and restaurants on Main Street. Easy drive to Assateague Island.

The room was very clean, but did have a slight odor when we checked in. I happened to have a new "tree" air freshener in my car which we brought in and hung on the A/C, and the maid must have gotten the hint as she left a can of Lysol spray in our room the next morning. We didn't complain to the front desk, as it seemed to subside and didn't remain an issue.

I would definitely recommend staying at the Waterside when visiting Chincoteague Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are pleased to hear that after returning to the area once again, you chose to stay with us! Sounds like your family enjoyed many of our amenities here at the Waterside that make our Inn
a unique destination. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    104
    16
    10
    12
See reviews for
114
165
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have been coming to the Waterside twice a year for many years. Donna and staff always go out of their way to make sure the stay is pleasant. The property is well maintained and clean with beautiful flower beds. The continental breakfast is always being enlarged.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your generous review. It is always a pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to seeing you during your next trip to our special place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very clean (except maybe for bedspreads and pillow shams) and free Wifi, BUT:

Flies on breakfast food
Only full fat milk available at breakfast. No water out at breakfast.

Non-white bedspreads and pillow shams - wonder when last cleaned.

Desk receptionist’s blouse was way too revealing - Don't need to see that- this is not a bar.

Walkways outside rooms are boards, so when people roll their suitcases down the walkways, big racket.

Door to toilet is misaligned so is very hard to close- scrapes and makes very loud noise, waking up whoever is sleeping at night.

Beds way too soft-hurt back.

Very expensive- $170/night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what you consider acceptable. All of our rooms have been recently updated with new bedspreads, carpet, curtains, and other personal touches. Cleanliness is important to us, so we are happy to hear that our high standards in that respect were also appreciated by you. Our hot and cold rotating breakfast items, coffee, tea, fresh orange juice, and reduced fat milk is enjoyed by our guests daily. The newly renovated breakfast area with ample seating is now complete. We hope during your next visit to Chincoteague, wherever you chose to stay, will exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our family wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Chincoteague. We have been vacationing at the Waterside Inn for many years. We have always found the owners and staff to be super. They go out of their way to make their guests feel satisfied and comfortable. The amenities there are what you would expect from a much larger hotel. The atmosphere is perfect with the view of the bay, the pool and the gorgeous sunsets. There are boat slips for the fisherman and even a place to clean the fish after a great day on the water. There is a long dock with benches at the end to enjoy the sunsets, fish or just relax. Breakfast is available daily in the office and the selection is more than you get at many of the chain motels (many of which don't even offer this amenity). The landscaping is spectacular with all the beautiful flowers, especially the many colors of roses that are planted in front of the building that you walk past to get to your room. The hotel is well- maintained and clean. I can't say enough about the Waterside Inn. If you are looking for a great place to stay while vacationing in Chincoteague, do yourself a favor and call them to make a reservation; you won't be sorry that you did. You'll understand why there are so many great ratings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Your family is "family" to us! We look forward to your visit each year, and are grateful to be a part of your wonderful family vacation memories! Thank you for sharing your generous thoughts with others about what makes the Waterside Inn so special to you. Take care and see you all next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were greated by their warm and friendly staff. While the rooms are a little dated the view from the deck more than makes up for it. Great location to get everywhere you want to go. Great view of nasa complex where they launch rockets from time to time. Nice pool,private pier, walk to historic district and carnival grounds. Daily attentive maid service. Breakfast was awesome and having biscuits and gravy for the first time, I am hooked. One thing I would like to see are bigger tv's. They are about 24 inches by my estimate. This hotel captures the essence of the island.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
The Waterside Inn strives to treat our guests with friendly personal service. So glad you enjoyed the latest addition to our rotating hot breakfast, sausage gravy and biscuits! We are always open to customer suggestions, and would like to share with you that we have put a new 32 inch TV in the room you stayed in! Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are visiting Chincoteague, you MUST stay at the Waterside Inn. The hotel is located right on the water and the view is gorgeous. Our group included many fishermen (and women) who appreciated the expansive dock as well as the nice fish cleaning station. I particularly enjoy the great pool! The hotel is clean and extremely well maintained. It is a family owned operation and it's easy to tell that the owners take pride in this place. In addition to the lovely views and updated rooms, the Waterside Inn offers an excellent breakfast every morning. Fresh waffles, biscuits and sausage gravy, eggs, sausage, cereal, donuts, etc. Who could ask for more than that? Our family has stayed at the Waterside Inn for more than a decade. The folks who work there are like our extended family. We wouldn't ever conider staying some place else. Come stay at the Waterside Inn and see what I mean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Manager at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for being a valued customer! We appreciate your fabulous review highlighting the variety of indoor and outdoor amenities that make our Inn unique. It is our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Waterside Inn for many years now. The owners and staff are the best. It is like coming to visit family and old friends which makes our stay on Chincoteague Island all the more special. If you are looking for a great family oriented place the Waterside Inn is that place. We come with a large family and everything is so convenient. The pool is right by the pier and no matter what you are doing you can all still be connected. The pier offers crabbing, fishing, and places to dock your boats. Their continental breakfast is not just cereal, toast, fruit, and bagels...they also serve Belgium waffles and new this year was the addition of sausage gravy. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as our family does. See you all next year!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Owner at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
It is always a joy to have your family stay with us! It is people such as yourselves that make our business a pleasure! Thinking of you all and looking forward to next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Address: 3761 Main St., P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.