We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a couples only weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Inn

Save Saved
You added Waterside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterside Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3761 Main St., P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
August Blowout Savings
Yorktown, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a couples only weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Lovely stay, clean, comfortable room, great view of water, docks, ducks and seagulls, and local neighborhood. The hot tub was clean and also had a lovely view. Breakfast is nothing special but is a nice touch and is convenient. Staff is very nice. One of my favorite places to stay ever!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    92
    14
    9
    11
See reviews for
88
150
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

This place has it all...A great view and wonder people. We walked just a short distance to town and had some cool small town shopping sessions.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda,Md.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed for 1 night .Have stayed at several other hotels ,etc. in Chincoteague over the years ,but the Waterside is one of the best .All rooms face the water ,we had a great water view w/out having the causeway in our view like some others .Also ,you make your room choice ,pay accordingly and you get your room choice .Too often ,at other places they seem to completely ignore your room requests .
Breakfast was an expanded continental breakfast that was also very good .
Room was clean and comfortable ,service was pleasant .
I'd recommend it ,and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

My husband, daughter, and I stayed here this weekend for one night on Chincoteague. We looked hard at the "chain" hotels before booking, but decided to give this place a try because of the location and the price. We are so glad we did! The decor is a little dated, but every room is waterfront and I don't believe I have ever stayed anywhere as clean. The A/C worked very well (an absolute for my husband!) and the room was perfect for our little getaway. The only downside there was my husband thought the beds were a little on the firm side. We spent a little time at the pool - it was heated which was a nice touch. They have just added a full breakfast (formerly continental) and all was very nice. The crowning touch, however, was when Donna gave our daughter a Dora travel pack with coloring book, crayons and stickers! What a nice treat!! And it kept our daughter entertained throughout the day. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Chincoteague overnight!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

This hotel is always a favorite. The people are great. the rooms are clean. The veiws are amazing. And I slept good here, even though I have a hard time sleeping away from home!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed 2 nights at Waterside Inn, for less than the price of one night in a hotel we've previously stayed in a few blocks away. Service was great, continental breakfast was great. Very informative front desk staff. Everything really met all expectations, the only downfall was the amount of traffic on the wooden walkways outside of the rooms.....very noisy at 1:00 am. Only a minor technicality and shouldn't be a deal breaker in my opinion. Over 100 types of rose bushes, very nice. Didn't try the pool or hot tub, no comment there.
I think we've found a new place to stay in years to come.....very pleased.

Room Tip: Book 3rd floor room, less noise, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIChincoteague, Manager at Waterside Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
We are happy to hear our inn is your new place to stay while visiting Chincoteague Island. We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Waterside Inn this past weekend and the experience was great. Staff was extremely friendly and kind when we asked for nightlife suggestions. Room was great with a balcony overlooking the inlet. Only downside was the loud couple upstairs on the third floor who continuously stirring and were going in and out to their deck at 1-3 AM!
Great place and we look forward to staying again very soon.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn

Address: 3761 Main St., P.O. Box 347, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Waterside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Chincoteague Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.