We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Watson House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Watson House
Save
You added The Watson House to your Saves list
4240 Main St., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336   |  
Hotel amenities
Laurel, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend just to get away. The house is well maintained and cared for. The rooms were excellent and the host was exceptional. Every morning the biscuits and baked goods were freshly made along with nice strong coffee, just the way we like it. Bob is an excellent baker and very knowledgeable of the island. He gave us some great insight on where to go, what to see and what all there is to do. This allowed us to enjoy a peaceful weekend. We'd also like to give a highly and well deserved 10 star rating to their guard cat, Clyde, who had walked us to the front door and made sure we arrived safely. Clyde is a very good at keeping an eye on the vehicles and makes you feel like your at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great bed and breakfast. The Inn Keepers had a great sense of Island history and recommendations for dining and adventure that we happily took. Visiting the local beach was easy with the B&B provided beach chairs, towels, and bicycles.
Very easy location with parking and plenty to do and see in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We just spent a long weekend here and loved it! The location was perfect, only a few blocks walk to the town center shops and restaurants. And Bob was such a great host, he gave us lots of tips on where to eat and what to do. He even keeps a copy of every menu from all of the restaurants around town. Breakfast is tasty in the morning- fresh coffee, a variety of fresh breads, yogurt and fresh fruit. The house itself is very well kept, and the rooms are very comfortable. I would highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: The Birds Nest room is in the back of the second floor and is more private than some of the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Bob and Carol are so welcoming and knowledgeable. They give great suggestions on where to eat and what to do around the island. They were also instrumental in making sure we were prepared for the pony swim. Carol is an amazing cook and you would be silly not to stay here and try out her cuisine for yourself. I look forward to returning to Chincoteague and The Watson House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at the Watson House on August 4th - unfortunately it was only a one night stay on our way to Virginia. We arrived and were immediately greeted by Clyde, the big, beautiful white cat! We were then greeted by Bob, who took us on a tour and history of the Watson House. We stayed in the Front Porch Room, which was right on the main floor. It was very nice, but the small sitting area is directly behind the porch, so you can see and hear some of the guests on the front porch. That wasn't too bad, we also went out on the front porch and joined the guests. We had a good time chatting with a couple who have been coming to the Watson House for over 15 years. Bob gave us good suggestions for dinner and made our reservation. The breakfast was wonderful -- Carole is a terrific cook, we did get to meet her briefly before our departure. I did wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you Bob for the map of the local wineries.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the Watson House, believe what you read in the reviews... yes, some things can be as good as they sound! We stayed in the Bayview room, it was very clean and comfortable. Bob was very helpful in pointing out great places to eat and offering to even make the reservations for us, he also was able to tell us which tours were the best for seeing the ponies. The breakfasts were divine! With lots of variety and creativity, Carole's breakfast was a terrific start to the day! They offered us use of an annual parking pass for Assateague Island/ Chincoteague Wildlife Refuge so that we didn't have to pay the $8 parking fee. Also they offer the use of beach towels,beach chairs, and bikes. All in all our first stay at a B and B was everything we'd hoped it to be.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011 via mobile

The room was very comfortable & clean. The Mabin's go out of there way to make sure you are comfortable. Bob is especially knowledgeable about the area: things to do, places to eat, etc. Carol's breakfast is most delicious. She even packed us a to go bag of goodies. The night we arrived, Bob already had made our dinner reservations. We would definitely recommend The Watson House.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Watson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson House

Address: 4240 Main St., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Watson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.