We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience for 1st time B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Watson House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Watson House
Save Saved
You added The Watson House to your Saves list
4240 Main St., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336   |  
Hotel amenities
Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience for 1st time B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at the Watson House on August 4th - unfortunately it was only a one night stay on our way to Virginia. We arrived and were immediately greeted by Clyde, the big, beautiful white cat! We were then greeted by Bob, who took us on a tour and history of the Watson House. We stayed in the Front Porch Room, which was right on the main floor. It was very nice, but the small sitting area is directly behind the porch, so you can see and hear some of the guests on the front porch. That wasn't too bad, we also went out on the front porch and joined the guests. We had a good time chatting with a couple who have been coming to the Watson House for over 15 years. Bob gave us good suggestions for dinner and made our reservation. The breakfast was wonderful -- Carole is a terrific cook, we did get to meet her briefly before our departure. I did wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you Bob for the map of the local wineries.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the Watson House, believe what you read in the reviews... yes, some things can be as good as they sound! We stayed in the Bayview room, it was very clean and comfortable. Bob was very helpful in pointing out great places to eat and offering to even make the reservations for us, he also was able to tell us which tours were the best for seeing the ponies. The breakfasts were divine! With lots of variety and creativity, Carole's breakfast was a terrific start to the day! They offered us use of an annual parking pass for Assateague Island/ Chincoteague Wildlife Refuge so that we didn't have to pay the $8 parking fee. Also they offer the use of beach towels,beach chairs, and bikes. All in all our first stay at a B and B was everything we'd hoped it to be.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011 via mobile

The room was very comfortable & clean. The Mabin's go out of there way to make sure you are comfortable. Bob is especially knowledgeable about the area: things to do, places to eat, etc. Carol's breakfast is most delicious. She even packed us a to go bag of goodies. The night we arrived, Bob already had made our dinner reservations. We would definitely recommend The Watson House.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our 25th anniversary and loved it. Bob and Carol were extremely friendly and helpful. The house is spotless, and the breakfasts were tasty and plentiful. Bob told me that his aim is to make sure there is enough food to get you thru to dinner if you spend the day sightseeing or at the beach. He was speaking the truth. The location of the house was very convenient, and if you are into antiques the house is full of them, but comfort was not sacrificed for beauty. The house was quite functional. They also provided bikes, chairs, beach towels, etc.---all free of charge. Finally, their pet cat Clyde who lives under the storage shed was a delight.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Had a very nice stay last week with Bob and Carole at the Watson House. We felt very welcome and our visit was most enjoyable. The house is a true antique, and the rooms are very nicely furnished with period pieces. Bob and Carole are outstanding hosts. Carole's breakfasts were very nice and she even packed us a snack bag for our trip home. The house is very conveniently located on Main St.; a short walk to many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

This was my husband and I's first B&B stay ever and it truly set the bar for a warm, cozy, and welcoming time. The innkeepers were very friendly and great to talk to! The house was very clean, modern, and warm (considering it was 25-30 degrees outside!). The little town was a blast to hang out in as we were able to be part of a town wide event called "Death by Chocolate" in honor of Valentine's Day. This is simply a wonderful place to go for a quiet getaway. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

We vacationed at the Watson House for three nights in May, 2008, as a last getaway before our first child was born. We'd been to Chincoteague ten years earlier, back in 1998. At that time we stayed in a small motel down the street, which we didn't care for but which was the best we could afford at the time. I remember walking past the Watson House one evening and seeing the people relaxing on the wrap-around porch of that beautiful house (I love old houses) and thinking, "Wow, I wish we could have stayed there!" So ten years later, we did.

We stayed in the Sun Room (so named because of the small adjoining sun room) and liked it very much. When we made the reservation we told them we wanted a room that would be cool and fairly quiet so I could rest, and this room worked well, since the sun room provides a buffer between the sleeping area and the street. The sun room was a nice place to sit and read, the bed was comfy enough even for a pregnant woman, and we really enjoyed having breakfast each morning out on the sunny front porch (I had to pass on the champagne mimosas, but it was nice to have the offer!). Bob and Carole had bikes, beach chairs, towels, sun block, and other things available for guests to use, and we spent two lovely afternoons with a picnic on the beach (sandwiches & treats from Sea Star Cafe & Wine, Cheese, & More down the street). They also gave us a pass to the refuge so we could get in for free during our stay.
Bob was really helpful with reservations, directions, and even helped us find a place where I could get a prenatal massage during our stay. He and Carole go above and beyond. We'll stay here again... hope it won't take another 10 years to get back to Chincoteague!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Watson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson House

Address: 4240 Main St., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Watson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.