We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4141 Main St., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dayton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

We came to Miss Molly's for a romantic retreat hoping it would be suitable for that and it really was outstanding. Very romantic, right on the Bay, beautiful view from our window. We loved the back sitting porch, screened in and relaxing. The Breakfasts were the most tasteful and the presentation was the best. We are definately going back. The location is the best on the Island right on the Bay and a short walking distance to everything in town. The beaches were beautiful we went before high tide and also after ~ the change was unbelievable. We saw the Ponies, and it must have been birding season because we saw almost every bird imaginable. We loved our room, we loved the island. Kudos to the owners.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    12
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
14
56
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

This B&B had many amenities that made it stand out to me, and I have stayed in many B&B's.
It had so many comfortable places to relax that sometimes you never wanted to leave. It has a refrigerator for the guests to use and snacks out to have out all hours. The breakfast was delicious!
The location is right on the Main St and about 5 miles from the Wildlife Refuge, an easy bike ride.
You will be happy you choose this place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

MIy parents and I stayed at Miss Molly's for a weekend get-away. We reserved the two rooms that were located on the third floor (the yellow room and the beach comber room). We were aware that the steps leading to the third floor were very steep and that the two rooms shared a bathroom. This was not a problem for us, but it is something to be aware of. My parents and I have stayed at many B&Bs and found this one to be in great need of some TLC. The linens and towels were not of quality and appeared to have been used for some time. The decor was not good, it was very mis-matched. All of the wallpaper in the rooms had seen better days. For the price per night, the quality certainly did not measure up.
We did enjoy that mostly everything that you would need for a day at the beach was provided. The bikes, chairs, and umbrellas were really nice. Also, we liked that there were drinks and snacks provided on the screened porch.
Be aware that breakfast is served at 9 am. There is no flexibilty with the time. The food was really good, but we found that the time was really inconvient.
All in all we enjoyed our stay, but I feel that we are used to better quality when staying at B&Bs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We spent a couple nights at Miss Molly's a few weeks after the Pony Swim, which is a quiet time in Chincoteague. We had the inn to ourselves but the innkeepers continued to provide marvelous service. Breakfast was substantial and very tasty. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

Great inn at Chincoteague. We spent 3 nights, and were touched when Lin upgraded our room for the first two (I had, it turns out, booked a pretty small room). We ended up in the room where Misty of Chincoteague was written! Great innovative breakfasts, free bikes, beautiful Victorian appointments. Noise from Main St., but most island inns suffer the same problem. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

We found Miss Molly’s Inn in the book, ‘1,000 places to See Before You Die.’ It a great place to stay by Chincoteague Island. Sam and Lin, the Inn Keepers, are great! Sam helped us book activities and give us good restaurant suggestions.

The rooms were clean and the house is full of charm. The breakfasts were great!

We did various activities suggested by Sam, including Kayaking and Biking (you can use Miss Molly’s bikes, they are right in back and in good condition). I would recommend taking the bikes out early in the morning; you will see some great wildlife, including the wild ponies! And when we rented kayaks, we were able to see stingrays and dolphins. (Sam set up the kayak rental too)
Additionally, Sam set us up with the Spyder Sunset Cruise through the bay, another great sight seeing experience, we saw two bald eagles! If you do the sunset cruise, you can bring your own cooler with beverages of choice.

The Inn was a little more money than we typically spend, but well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Miss Molly's Inn for a week during the summer. We wanted to vacation on Chincoteague Island because of all the natural beauty and the friendly people there. We love the outdoors, but we also like feeling comfortable at the end of the day, so this turned out perfectly for us.

Lin and Sam are some of the nicest people we've ever met. Sam gave us a tour of the house and then showed us a map of the island and explained what the local attractions were and even how we could ride our bicycles (actually bikes borrowed from the Inn) up a "secret" bike path to the beach. WE did just that, and had a great couple of days out at Assateague Beach with about 10-15 other bikers who knew about this trail -- imagine having the run of a gorgeous beach just about to yourself.

Lin was thoughtful enough to ask us if we had any food allergies or if there were any foods we didn't like to eat, in preparation for breakfast. And...WOW! The breakfast was simply amazing. Every morning started off at 9 a.m. meeting downstairs in the dining room with other guests (from around the world) for a two-course breakfast, and that's not including the trays of homemade muffins and breads to choose from. Lin is an excellent cook and we really looked forward to that every morning.

We stayed in The Upper Deck room, which had direct access to the deck overlooking the dock and the bay. It was fun watching the fishing boats come into the dock and the workers unloading the boat. And everyday, about 150 or so ducks would gather down there at the dock. Early one morning, we saw one of the dock workers throwing corn out for the ducks and they went crazy!

I had my laptop with me and took advantage of the free wi-fi. There was no television or telephone in the room, and that was just fine with me -- about time to escape the madness. The room was decorated with a nautical theme in shades of blue, very pleasing to the eye. The bed was comfortable and also quite beautiful with all the matching pillows and blankets. It was clean and smelled nice, and the friendly housekeepers did a fantastic job everyday of freshening it up for us.

Next year, we plan to return to Miss Molly's Inn, but we'll probably try a different room just to change things up a bit. The Marguerite Henry room is rather large with a sitting area and a large bath, so we may try that one, but Captain Jack's room also looked inviting -- it is a tiny room (romantic), and I did get to sit on the bed and it is extremely fluffy and comfy. So...it will be a tough decision.

  • Liked — It was so comfortable and relaxing
  • Disliked — saying goodbye
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4141 Main St., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miss Molly's Inn sits on the bay and has five wonderful porches with plenty of rocking chairs and a large deck on the second floor that overlooks the bay. We also have a beautiful screened in porch full of flowers. The inn is open all year round and is perfect for honeymoons, small weddings, conferences and family get-togethers! Miss Mollys is also where Marguerite Henry wrote her classic 'Misty of Chincoteague'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miss Molly`s Hotel Chincoteague Island
Miss Molly`s Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Molly's Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.