We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, watch your speed!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7105 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Boca Raton
1 review
“Great hotel, great location, watch your speed!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Large clean room with balcony. Nice breakfast which you can take outside to eat. The location is great right near the bridge to the preserve. The people at the desk were very helpful. Be very careful, the speed limit all over the island is 25.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    126
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
234
246
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed here for three nights and were totally blown away by the awesome staff, including everybody from people at desk to housekeeping. They communicated a strong desire to do everything in their power to make our stay perfect. The place was also beautifully maintained with strong evidence of pride in their lovely spot.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Of the dozens, maybe hundreds of hotels and motels I've stayed at that are parts of big chains, this must be the friendliest: I felt sure the staff must all be family, but they're not (I asked): it just feels that way, as if this were a small, locally owned place and had nothing to do with a big chain. The landscaping is really lovely around the front entrance and the pool. It's located within easy biking distance of the marvelous National Wildlife Refuge, right next door to one of the better restaurants in the area, and next door also on the other side to the Maritime Museum, which really is surprisingly good (and a good cheap option if the weather's bad). Breakfast is the only element that reminded us of a typical chain--plenty of options, just none of them great. We've stayed at about half a dozen hotels on the island, and this is the one we'll surely return to every time from now on. In fact, we'll probably make extra trips to Chincoteague now that we've found it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Chincoteague is a small place, (every one knows everyone kind of a place), it has only two main roads, the Main st and Maddox. This hotel is on Maddox, very close to Assateague. Next premise of this hotel is the Oyster Maritime museum, if that is on your trip plan. We had a very good stay, very clean spacious room, excellent breakfast, very helpful staff. We were lucky to get a good "summer sizzle" deal and got a cheap rate from their website. The Hampton hotel does look more grand from outside, it has the back water view and beautiful sunset view. But when we were visiting Chincoteague the room rate difference was almost double.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC/NoVa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Just returned from what was supposed to be a beach week in Chincoteague / Assateague. Unfortunately, it rained every day, and for all or most of each day... (sigh). The only thing that saved the trip was the friendliness and great service from the folks at the Best Western. This hotel has the best location on the island; literally a stone's throw from the entrance to the National Park / Wildlife Refuge. Most (if not all) of the rooms have lovely views of the lighthouse. The BW provides a decent value for the money: the rooms are clean and modern, with flat screen TVs and new bathroom fixtures, and the free breakfast is ample, although not gourmet. Upon my discovery that my room fridge had no freezer, the hotel staff were more than happy to store my cold packs in their fridge and to fetch them for me each day at my request. And to make the breakfast room microwave available for everyone's use, 24/7. When I reported a minor problem with one of the sinks, the staff was solicitous and responsive. The sink was fixed immediately, and I received a nice note and some chocolates as an apology. The only thing I can take issue with is that the construction of the building seemed flimsy; I could hear the footsteps of the person(s) immediately above me at all hours. Alas, the inhospitable weather meant that I was unable to partake of the hotel's pool, rental bikes, etc., so I am unable to comment about them. But I do plan to return to Chincoteague (in better weather!), and I will definitely stay at the BW again. Stay tuned for another review!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Best Western for 5 days. We have been to the island before but not at this hotel. It was a great experience. From the friendly staff to the comfortable beds, overall, a terrific hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

This hotel is wonderful. If I stay at a chain hotel it is usually Hilton or Marriott. I had never stayed at a Best Western before until I stayed here. I enjoyed every minute I spent at this hotel. The location is great. It is the closest hotel to Assateague where the beach and ponies are. They have bike rentals and games out back. The pool area is nice and beautifully decorated with flowers. The morning breakfast is good. I had booked 3 nights called down there before I went and changed it to 2 nights. While there I decided to change back to 3 nights and it was no problem. The ladies at the front desk are very nice. I was always greeted by name weather I was stopping to talk to them or just in passing. The only problems I had were the bathroom door knob was hard to turn and I could hear the people above me walking and slamming their door to the balcony and that is picking. It was truly a great place to stay. I highly recommend the Best Western.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island

Address: 7105 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.