We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7105 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super place and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at this location for over 30 years. The staff is excellent (I am welcomed by name upon check-in), the rooms are extremely clean (maid service is excellent), breakfast buffet is very fresh. As a frequent traveler for business and pleasure, this has to be my favorite place to stay. Closest to the beach, has bike rentals, washer and dryer (and not a dingy area in a basement either - new, clean machines in a well lit, clean room). The management pays attention to detail at this location (always cleaning the pool, yard work, etc.. You won't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    137
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
256
268
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Rooms were very nice and very clean. Breakfast was good and the hospitality lady was great. We would like to return to the area and we would definitly choose this Best Western Plus Hotel again. The hotel desk clerks were very friendly and helpful about places to eat and how to get to places. Checkout was quick and friendly. The breakfest hostess was very nice. She provided us with knowledge about the history of the island and pictures of the ponies.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and i spent 2 days this past weekend and the hotel was perfect, the staff was so friendly and helpful. quiet, clean and beds were clean and spotless. we never thought twice about sleeping in this hotel. diners were close by. their morning and late evening coffee was always fresh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel and had a lovely experience. The hotel really is the closest to the refuge. Our room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. We happened to be given a corner room on the end, so it was very peaceful. The balcony would be a fun place to sit on a warmer day as it faced the front of the hotel with the refuge in the distance. Good complimentary breakfast with varied choices. The front desk staff was pleasant, professional and helpful with some good suggestions for dinner. It is very convenient to restaurants and for fast food lovers, there is a McDonalds restaurant across the street. We saw some guests walking or biking into the refuge as it is that close by.

Room Tip: Our corner room on the second floor was very quiet and peaceful during our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Only stayed one night, but very nice experience. Room was above average, staff was friendly and professional. Great complimentary breakfast. Sorry to say checking in late we just missed what appeared to be a very worthwhile presentation about the island (their first one apparently). My 2 kids wished the outside pool was heated or indoor, but that is our only con. Besides, we weren't there for the swimming!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is very close to the park "Refuge". Room was very spacious and clean. Price was $81 including tax, thanks to the season(early April). Service was really good and the breakfast great. There is a McDonald's across the street. Try the new "wraps" for a healthy meal!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the local Days Inn and moved to the Best Western the next day because the Days Inn had ants! The Best Western was only a few dollars more, but it was WELL WORTH IT! The lodging was superior compared to the Days Inn, the hotel staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was pleasant, and the breakfast was great! They turned what could have been a crappy vacation into a wonderful one! Thanks!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel overlook the marshlands!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island

Address: 7105 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.