We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7105 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Overall, a great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Room was big enough, but not overly big. Had mini fridge and microwave, ample size bath with nice soap, toiletries and towels. Enjoyed having a balcony too. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was better than most chain hotels. Coffee, lemonade and whole fruit available in the lobby at all times. Location is very close to Chincoteague National Park so you can either walk or bike there from your hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    126
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
234
246
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Probably a best choice for birders as it is an easy walk to salt marsh for those interested in viewing Clapper Rails. Less than 5 minutes from refuge. Beautifully landscaped grounds. Room was nicely appointed, but rather tight. Very comfortable bed, but no lounge chair. No counter space in bathroom. Cramped breakfast area, although food choices were good. View of sunset from balcony over parking lot. If you want your bed made, don't choose "Towel service only!"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a third floor suite with great views of the Lighthouse. The location is great. A few minutes outside of town but close to some stores and eating plaves, but the best is the Wildlife reufe is within seconds.
The staff and the manager at this hotel are the best.We needed some extra chairs in our room and more dressor space for 5 woman. That brought it to us right away, The front desk staff were so pleasant and helpful with everything from directions, eating recommendations and making reservations for us. The grounds are keep spotless, nice pool, great landscaping. This is where I will stay on my next visit.,,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Best Western is located directly across the bridge on Maddox Avenue from the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge. This motel is in very good shape in comparison to many other Chincoteague properties. My check-in was smooth, and the room was very presentable with 2 double beds on the upper floor. There is no closet, only an open clothes hangar bar with a rack on top next to the door, along with a small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. There is a small bathroom with shower/tub, toilet, and sink (not a lot of shelf space). There is a 2nd sink outside the bathroom door with a wall mounted hair dryer (very convenient for my partner to use while I was using the shower). There is also a small ironing board that pulls down from the wall. A small desk with 2 chairs, a comfortable couch chair, and a nice little balcony with 2 chairs. The air conditioner is a wall unit that is controlable, but somewhat noisy. The TV is an old school CRT without HD. I would rate the room as a 3.5 star room - very acceptable.

The bed is nice and comfortable, and they provide lots of pillows. Small nightstand between the 2 double beds. I slept well on every night of my stay. I also heard very little noise from the adjacent rooms and from the street. However, Chincoteague is a fairly quiet beach town, particularly with respect to Ocean City, MD.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. My room was kept very clean with towels replaced every day. The soap, conditioner, shampoo conditioner, and body lotion was kept well stocked. I would give the maid service a 5-star rating.

A free breakfast is served every day. As is typical, bread, pastries, cereal, milk, apples, oranges, juices, and coffee. They also serve scrambled eggs and other hot items (including waffle maker) each day with some variation over the week. I would rate this a 3-star breakfast. You can get a much better breakfast at Bill's, but this breakfast is free.

They have a small gym with a treadmill, a cross-trainer, and a weight machine. They rent bicycles for $3 per hour (a 2-hour bike tour of the Refuge is a nice workout). Their is also a small pool (avoid the early evening with the mosquitos). They have ice machines (standard), and a 2 washers + 2 dryers laundry ($1 soap, $1.50 wash, $1.50 dry). The wireless internet service is free, but poor. I found that I had no connectivity between 9 and 10pm - probably because everyone in the hotel is streaming their Netflix! I would give the hotel a 3-star rating for amenities.

Overall, this is a 3.5 star hotel. I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to others. Compared to other hotels in Chincoteague, this is a very good place to stay. I really enjoyed the close proximity to the Refuge for jogging and bicycling, and hopping over for a swim and a day in the sun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is the first time we have been back to this prorperty (formerly the Driftwood Hotel) since it became a Best Western Plus. We always enjoyed this hotel because of its location and it was just a nice, clean well maintained property. It is even better now. The gardens around the pool are even more beautiful than we remembered. The rooms have been updated with 32" LCD TV, wifi, new furniture and very comfortable beds. As an added bonus, the free breakfast was really good with something for everyone. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel. I look forward to our next stay there.

Room Tip: We always try to get poolside on the bottom floor, but have also stayed on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

What more could you ask for? Friendly and helpful staff, great, comfortable beds in spacious, clean and quiet rooms with wifi that works along with clear TV quality. Breakfast was actually fresh with a variety of choices and a pleasant environment for eating. The front desk took care of any reservations you needed to make and also offered many suggestions for you to consider.

Room Tip: You're not there for the view which is the same from all the rooms. Get over the fact that McDon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Spent a lovely 36+ hours in Chincoteague last weekend with my best friend and her two nieces, having visited this area a few times, but never with kids we decided to not stay at our favorite B&B and decided on the Best Western Plus based on reviews. Let me tell you I'm so happy we made this choice - I am VERY picky about comfort and cleanliness (I love B&Bs & small boutique hotels) and this place did not disappoint. From the outside the building isn't anything special, but the grounds with all the flowers are beautiful - the rooms however are great, I feel them most have recently been renovated and they do not look like a budget hotel (we had one of the ground floor rooms near the pool). The complimentary breakfast was a step-up from the normal continental and perfect for two picky little girls. The pool was great and the area surrounding it beautiful - who ever takes care of the plants do a great job. The hotel staff was great. After talking it over we booked a long weekend here in July 2013 as we checked out. I hope ownership and management stays the same so our experience will be the same.

A couple of notes - we usually come to Chincoteague in July, this was our first September trip - we were attacked by mosquitos (they were very small, not the large ones I'm used t) and little nat-like bugs, especially when we were eating at Woody's. Speaking of Woody's this used to be our favorite place, very disappointed by the rude service, high prices and the chicken was terrible!

Room Tip: ask for a room on ground floor near pool if traveling with kids - it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island

Address: 7105 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.