We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern hospitality and thoughtfulness reign supreme here...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7105 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Southern hospitality and thoughtfulness reign supreme here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We are in room 118. Fabulous room for the price... Large, nicely furnished, and incredibly clean... The only thing not WOW is the tv which olds bit old & small... But truly, I can't imagine ever staying anywhere else... The beds are comfy with LOTS of pillows... The AC is loud but cools well even though it's 96 outside... The pool is lovely & large. A large portable fridge and microwave are in the room for the customer to use (no horrible minibar)... It's the last commercial place before the Chincoteague Wildlife Refuge which means the location is fantastic... And the staff here are second to none. Helen at the desk is an angel. Kind and incredibly helpful. I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel... There are free cookies when you check in... we arrived late at night and missed out on the cookies- but it's a great thing to be handed a cookie when you arrive tired from driving...Great hotel...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    126
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
234
246
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
md
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel in July 2008, when we decided to return to Chincoteague/Assateague for a weekend, we, again, chose the Best Western. Booking online is so simple and when we arrived, we were delighted that our room was ready for early check-in. When making the reservation on line I indicated that we would be celebrating our anniversary and appreciated the hotel staff's consideration in selecting a room for us on the third floor. Not only were we given a top-floor room, but we arrived to a chilled bottle of champagne and a bud vase with flowers and a special message. What a great way to start the weekend!

Our king-sized bed was comfortable, the room clean, and housekeeping staff friendly and non-obtrusive. Having breakfast included really makes this place a great value - make-it-yourself pancakes and waffles, a variety of cereals, pastries, and juices. Aimee was in charge of breakfast the weekend we stayed and did a terrific job of making sure there was enough freshly prepared scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage on the buffet.

Good parking is available. All hotel staff were friendly - quick check-in and check-out. Would definitely stay again!

Tip: 3rd floor rooms are quieter. Also, if you prefer shower gel to bar soap, be sure to bring some from home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our first impression of Best Western Plus – Chincoteague Island was a very positive one – the grounds are beautifully landscaped and the check-in clerk was friendly and professional (the welcome chocolate chip cookies were delicious). This lovely hotel is the closest one to the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge and the beach

The room did not disappoint. My family of three stayed in a 2 queen bed room on the top floor (ask for the 3rd floor, it is quieter with a better view) with a balcony overlooking the pool and views of the wildlife refuge and lighthouse in the distance. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. There were two sinks – one in the bathroom and one outside the bathroom which is always helpful. The room contained a chair, small table with 2 chairs, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, clock radio, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, and an old television. I would suggest that the owner update the old television to a flat screen.

Breakfast is a step above the normal continental breakfast. Yes, there are the make your own waffles and a strange assembly-line pancake machine that produces flat, tasteless pancakes but they also provide cereal, muffins, bagels, yogurt, and on some mornings bacon or sausage and scrambled eggs. While the indoor dining area is small, there is additional covered seating outside near the pool area.

The hotel also provides games such as volleyball and cornhole at no cost. Bicycles can be rented for $3 an hour/$14 a day.

A word of advice – bring bug spray, especially if you are hiking in the refuge looking for ponies. The bugs will eat you alive! The Chincoteague Pony Center and the corral next to McDonalds has ponies you can feed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

very nice hotel, best hotel breakfast ever, food was fresh and tasty. rooms were clean, staff was very helpful. would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This Best Western was a clean, well-managed facility where each member of the staff seemed to take customer service as their personal mantra. Whether it was the front desk or the cleaning crew, each staff member seemed quite happy to be working here, and working for you.

The rooms were generous in size and spotless, each with a balcony facing the marshes of the National Wildlife Refuge (this is the closest hotel to the National Park and excellent beach). Breakfast was more varied than I had expected, and while the breakfast room (nook) was small, there were plenty of outdoor tables right off the main lobby.

You can even see the occasional space launch from the Wallops Island spaceport a few miles away from your bedroom balcony. Can you name another hotel from which you can watch rockets fly? I can't.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the east side of the hotel, upper floors (2nd or 3rd). You'll have a better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Best Points:
- Closest to Chincoteage wild life refuge.
- Friendly staff.
- Very pleasant environment.
- Comfortable and spacious rooms. You'll get a really good sleep.
- McDonalds across the street.
- Walkable night time surroundings.
- Reasonable prices.
- Parking available at ease.

Points to consider:
- If you are with very young children/ infants you might find yourself in trouble at complimentary breakfast. Dining area is very too small and it is hard to accommodate small children who tend to speak out loud and there is only one high chair available. Either leave your children in room and go for breakfast or be ready for embarrassment.
- I wish there was a play room for children.

Room Tip: Ground floor is most accessible for families with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The best Best Western I've stayed in and pretty much one of the best hotels I've stayed in full stop. Lovely big room with a balcony and a view over to the Assateague Lighthouse and the wildlife refuge. Room was spotless, as was rest of hotel. Great selection at breakfast (hot and cold) and the cookies on check in, the newspaper every day and the lemonade available all day were all really nice extra touches. The staff were all extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area.
They have bikes for rent, a decent laundry room and a nice looking pool area too. Hotel is also the closest one to the wildlife refuge. Lots of restaurants within walking distance or a very short drive.
Would go back in an instant. Can't be faulted.
(Museum next door was really interesting too.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island

Address: 7105 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2104 (Formerly Driftwood Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Chincoteague Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.