We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on the water!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4179 Main Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newark, United States
1 review
“Great place on the water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It was a wonderful clean and well run hotel. I loved being on the water and being able to look out on the bay side. After 25+ years of staying at different hotels on the main street this was a luxury for my husbands birthday. I really was surprised that we had not checked it our earlier. I wanted to be near the water and this fit the bill. My husband was pleasantly surprised. We met another couple who stayed there for the first time just like us and they will be staying there from now on. I must say it is like going from a tent to a 5 star hotel, so we will be staying there also in the future. The staff is wonderful they are on top of cleaning everything very fast. I must say I was impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    104
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
256
299
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am a fan of the Hampton Inn brand, but the Hampton Inn in Chincoteague surpassed my expectations. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and the rooms and facilities were so new looking and clean that I could not believe the hotel was over 10 years old. The landscaping around the property is so beautiful and well-tended that you feel like you are coming to a luxury resort. I was very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This inn is the best of chincoteague for sure.
The staff are VERY VERY VERY polite. Out of all the 30 I have seen in our week, none have ever "rolled" their eyes or mumbled. They smiled and were very polite.

The view is Magnificent! The inn is directly in front of the water. There is also many chairs and tables outside for families to relax and enjoy.

Breakfast is served daily from 6AM-10AM. The food is quick, fast, easy, and delicious. They even have a waffle machine!
There are laundries in each floor, and vending machines too.
It is very quiet, and the inn is also very clean.
There is a fitness room (with treadmills, etc) and a small pool with a hot tub included.

The only complaint I have about this inn, is if you purchased a room that is NOT smoke-free, please know that the smoke smell is VERY bad. We turned on the AC, and never turned it off-but the smell of the smoke was still VERY terrible.

Other than that, I had an excellent stay. Thank you, Hampton Inn!! We will be coming back in a "smoke-free" room haha!

Room Tip: Get smoke-free rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here at the Hampton Inn. We stayed in several Hampton's on our vacation this week and this one was by far the best. Not just because the place was in excellent shape, but because the service was great. From the time we checked in, to the second we left while someone was actually spraying off the sidewalk...it was a wonderfully clean and comfortable stay. Nice view and a nice walking distance to good food.

Already talking about a special trip back just to stay here and spend more time in the area.

Room Tip: The third floor balcony room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlinton, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We celebrated Father's Day, Grandson's Birthday and our anniversary at Chincoteague. Gorgeous rooms overlooking the waterway (lots of boat traffic). Seafood on the island was wonderful. Waterfront rooms with balconies were fantastic and the weather perfect. The members of the staff at this hotel were most helpful in restaurant selections and were in good humor appearing to very much enjoy being employees at this establishment.

Room Tip: Book a waterfront room with a balcony! Beautiful rooms and best hotel staff ever. Each one deserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Airy, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was my second stay at the Chincoteague Hampton during short business trips. Very clean throughout and the staff are all very friendly. Location is great and easy walking around main street & Maddox Blvd. Great breakfast in the mornings, I will stay here every time I come back when available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

You will never stay in a better hotel when it comes to people and experience. They get it, and they get my money because of them, not just the hotel. It is a first class destination run by the highest end owners who are involved every day in the operations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Address: 4179 Main Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront Hotel Chincoteague Island
Hampton Inn Chincoteague Island
Hotel Chincoteague
Chincoteague Island Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.