We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on Chincoteague Island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
4179 Main Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Elkridge, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on Chincoteague Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I just spent a nice, spur of the moment, weekend on Chincoteague Island, VA and stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites on the island. This is a very nice place to stay when you visit the island, it is centrally located, the rates are good and the staff is great! The owner is almost always in the lobby in the morning, making sure the hotel runs smoothly, although, with the staff that is employed there, I'm sure the place runs fine all the time.

The rooms are very nice, almost all of them have a great view of Chincoteague Bay, and you can almost always catch an amazing sunset. The free breakfast, is pretty good also. We didn't use the indoor pool, but it sure looked inviting, and there were other guests in it, and they looked to be enjoying it. The exercise room is adequate, helps burn off all the extra calories from the Island Creamery! :-)

Overall, this is an excellent place for a short or extended stay on Chincoteague. Thanks Tom and Jackie!

Room Tip: any room is a great room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    100
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
240
275
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating The pool is nice. Breakfast is good great location on the island.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We rate it a 5 as a relative rating because it met our needs perfectly in a 2-3 star destination. Spit-spot clean, comfortable beds and linens, fabulous free cooked breakfast. Complimentary brewed coffee, hot cocoa and tea choices at all hours. Walking distance to restaurants and shops. Geat water views. Service was gracious. Free WIFI. Nice albeit small pool/jacuzzi. Comfortable Great Room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Wow! What a great stay at the Hampton Inn! The employees were friendly and attentive from the front desk to the housekeeping. The hotel was spotless and very inviting. We stayed 4 nights at the end of February and enjoyed every second. Our room was king suite with a waterfront view and what a view it was! I will say there are rooms that are "side facing" rooms and they have less than desirable views (the close by Comfort Suites on one side and a conglomerate of fishing vessels, fishing nets, sheds and other run down things on the other side). Our advice....be sure to get a room directly facing the water otherwise you may be disappointed (if a view is important to you). The room itself was clean and comfy as is normally the case with a Hampton. Our balcony was plenty big with 2 chairs and a drink table.
The breakfast each morning was nice......there weren't a ton of tables so even in the offseason I'd say tables were pretty much filled with people eating during the peak morning hours. The pool/jacuzzi were amazing! Clean and warm. We spents hours each day in them......the large windows in the pool room let in plenty of sunshine and it felt like a summer day in the middle of winter. The hotel had free WiFi along with a Business Center that had a few computers, faxes, printers, etc.

As for its location, a few minute walk will take you into the "historic" part of Chincoteague with some shops and restaurants. A 10 minute walk or so the other direction takes you toward the more built up portion of Chincoteague where the Creamery, Dollar General and Pharmacy were located. The drive to the Wildlife Refuge took only 5 minutes.

All in all another great stay at a Hampton. The staff here really stood out. They were kind and on top of everything in the blink of an eye. Just a great run hotel in Chincoteague!

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, get a room directly facing the waterfront....stay away from "sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Every year my family goes to Chincoteague for 4th of July. Normally we stay further down the island but this time we decided to use our Hilton Honor points and stay here. This is the nicest Hampton Inn we have ever stayed in. Ask for a Balcony room so you can have views of the water. It worked as a great vantage point to watch the 4th of July fireworks instead of going down to the crowded fairgrounds. The breakfast in the mornings was great and cut down on our runs to sugarbakers. It is a great location for Island exploring. The rooms are spacious we had 3 adults and 2 kids and the room was more than addequate. We look forward to coming here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We are a family that travels often. The Chincoteague Hampton Inn blew us away! Travel post from our family blog can be found here: http://johnson-mccormick.com/2012/02/chincoteague-1-of-1/

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We agree with all the great reviews for this hotel for the same reasons. This is just about the only true hotel in town - most are motels or camp/cottage style accommodations on the strip that leads the the ocean conservation area. The Hampton is nicely set back from the road with tidy, spacious rooms and a good breakfast. We had an excellent room - main level with a balcony with a wide water view that looked out onto boats and with a constant parade of passing ducks. Balcony was excellent for snacks before dinner and drying our bathing suits too.

Chincoteague is a charming beach town. There's no true fine dining, but we enjoyed eating at the premier restaurant in town, as well Chinese food served outdoor cafe style just a short stroll from the hotel, and great take-out sandwiches from the Sea Star Cafe for our days on the beach. (There are no snack bars or food suppliers of any sort at the beach, so be sure to go well provisioned.) One of the best surprises was the warmth of the water. We were expecting it to be about the same as the National Seashore at Cape Cod, but it was much warmer. We purchased body boards in town and both kids and parents had lots of fun in the waves. Nice white sand and very long beach. We were there labour day weekend for three nights; it wasn't crowded at all.

There's a small theatre in town, but the movies playing while we were there weren't age-appropriate for our kids, but it is a charming old-style theatre that we'd like to check out on a return visit. The island is famed for it's wild horses; we hiked most of the hiking trails without spotting any (nice trails!) but we did see some horses along the side of the road. Would recommend this family holiday spot for a great long-weekend getaway. anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront

Address: 4179 Main Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront Hotel Chincoteague Island
Hampton Inn Chincoteague Island
Hotel Chincoteague
Chincoteague Island Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.