We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Chincoteague

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Chincoteague to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4195 Main Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here mid-April and loved it!!! Very friendly, helpful staff, nice lobby with great breakfast setup, coffee 24 hours, clean, pretty. Can't say enough! Room was spacious and nicely decorated, 2nd floor, beds were very comfortable, lovely view, and this was at a time when weather was pretty crappy. There is a nice indoor pool area, and the outdoor pool looks great for summer guests. They had a guest speaker one night that was interesting and fun. We were just staying for a short getaway, and I would definitely stay again. My only problem is that I am a smoker, and this is 100% non-smoking, even on balconies which I find a bit extreme, but it is what it is, and small area that is provided for smokers was not maintained as far as the garbage can was concerned. Other than that, I highly recommend this particular Comfort Suite, very, very happy there! We did want to try the Presidential Suite, but were told it was booked, though it looked like there were 3 of them, and they did not all seem filled, but we were quite happy with our room, a double queen, I believe.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a bay view, ours was a double, very nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: Those practices are very good, but we did wind up putting all our garbage, cans, bottles, etc. in garbage cans in room, maybe could put some sort of recycling thing in hallway somewhere if want to fully comply, tho they do have bins at front of building.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    116
    24
    2
    1
See reviews for
154
165
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Recently stay at the Comfort Suites Chincoteague VA and would highly recommend this hotel. Front desk staff was pleasant and very accomodating. They found us a room quickly when the other hotel in the area that we had booked with on their website had no record of our reservation. In addition they upgraded us to a suite without us asking which was very much appreciated. The Comfort Suites is a very clean, visually appealing hotel with many amenities. We really appreciate the 100% smoke free environment and their commitment to the environment. From the outstanding view of the bay from the balcony of our room, to the friendly professional staff from the front desk girls to the maid service, to the maintainance staff, to the great breakfast along with multiple other amenities make this hotel a definite place we will return to and highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie_Rose, Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
It is always such a joy to receive such positive feedback. Our staff works very hard to make sure our guest are relaxed , and refreshed before the leave us. A big thank you for recommending our hotel to future vacationers. We appreciate your business and can't wait for a return visit from you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed three nights at Comfort Suites as part of a wedding party. Our room was ready early, the staff was very friendly, and there was space in our room for our bicycles. Our view was great. Only thing we didn't like about the room was the fan turned on to use the bathroom light. Breakfast was good - but wish peanut butter was available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie_Rose, Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and hope you will consider a visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just a quick overnight getaway with the grand kids and they had a ball. Not easy to keep a 13 year old girl and a 5 year old boy both happy at the same time...they loved the pool, breakfast and how comfortable the beds are...the little one also liked to watch the minnows in the pond from the balcony. Over all a great stay, room was spotless, the breakfast was very fresh and good, the staff made the kids and I feel very welcomed. A special thanks to Linda and Cory who checked us in, Nicole and Margie who checked us out, Anita and Lakesha who prepared and served the hot breakfast. A good time was had by all,

Green Features: The first thing my grandson (age 5) said was look grandma they recycle!!!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie_Rose, Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent trip to Chincoteague . I am happy to hear that your stay with us was a success. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff. It is always a pleasure when our guest remember our staff members by name. Our staff takes pride in the services we offer and with reviews such as yours, it give's them the boost they need to continue to strive to be the best .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We spent a few days at the Comfort Suites. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the bay side view we got gave us a spectacular view. The breakfast was decent with a reasonable assortment of things including waffles you make yourself. The pool was a hit with the kids and the work-out room was clean and modern. It didn't have a large number of machines, but I need had a problem getting one.
The staff were friendly and helpful. On our last night, the heat stopped working-- not a major issue. One quirk of the hotel was that they give out plastic cards that you turn in for pool towels at the lobby desk. I guess this is to reduce theft of the pool towels. We lost ours and were told we would be charged $20 per card. In retrospect the woman checking us in did tell us this, but in the frenzy of checking in after a long drive with kids, it didn't sink in. I'm not sure if we were charged for our towel cards-- if we were, I would revise my rating to a 2 but hopefully this was not the case.
The hotel is walking distance to a few shops and restaurants. It's ~ 2.5 - 3 miles to the other end of the island where you go over the bridge to Assateague-- not bad by bike or car.

Green Features: I appreciated the hotel's environmentally friendly practices. we never mind using our towels a few times to reduce water, etc...
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie_Rose, Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing such delightful feedback on your recent stay with us. It is our pleasure to provide you with clean , comfortable rooms on your vacation. We can't agree more the views are truly spectacular , and sitiing on your private balcony is a great way to relax and unwind. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience or confusion that may have been caused by our pool towel program . Thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention , please give me a call at 757-336-3700 if you have any questions regarding your concerns.

Sincerely
Lisa Sales
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were only able to stay one night and enjoyed our time there. We had a room with a view of the bay and a jetted tub. It was lovely and very much needed after a stormy weather drive.
The staff are very courteous and helpful. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie_Rose, Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel many times.The staff is awesome and very friendly. It's the perfect place to simply relax and unwind. The view from the rooms is beautiful. The beds are very comfortable. The Comfort Suites is like my home away from home. I can't wait till my next visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie_Rose, Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and staff. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your loyalty . Looking forward to seeing you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Chincoteague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Chincoteague

Address: 4195 Main Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Chincoteague 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Chincoteague, the Comfort Suites hotel offers the ideal way to enjoy all the beauty, history, recreation and adventure of Chincoteague Island. Whether its business or leisure that brings you to Virginia's only resort island, Comfort Suites lives up to it's name from the moment guests enter the lobby to be greeted by friendly, attentive staff. "Comfort" continues to be the operative word throughout the hotel, from the 87 oversized suites with waterfront views and spacious work and sitting areas, to on-site amenities that include a newly remodeled fitness center, indoor and outdoor pools, free continental breakfast and morning paper, guest laundry, fax & copy service, meeting facilities for 50 and free high speed internet service. Best of all, when it's time for fun, the options are endless on this small island. In town, there's great shopping, dining, galleries, boat rentals and fishing excursions. A visit to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge on Assateague Island offers guests the oppertunity to catch a glimpse of some of the 260 species of birds as well as the wild Chincoteague ponies. Additionally, miles of biking and hiking trails wind through pine woods, marshes and freshwater ponds. Built in 1833, the Assateague lighthouse is a favorite attraction, as is the Assateague Island National Seashore, offering over 37 miles of unspoiled beachfront for swimming and water sports. Hotel guests also enjoy the NASA Visitor's Center as well as antique shopping, miniture golf and scenic day cruise excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Chincoteague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Hotel Chincoteague Island
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Chincoteague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.