We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Chincoteague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Chincoteague to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4195 Main Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coram, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“GREAT STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Clean, beautiful, and friendly staff and price was great during off season stay. Every room has a balcony so you can enjoy the beautiful location right on the water. Room was very large and was very comfortable. Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites4195, General Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We really appreciate your business and the word "absolutely " means the so much to us. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Chincoteague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    101
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
137
139
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great location. Off-season with not a lot of people around. Great room with bay views and cookies on arrival. Nice weather. Close to other restaurants as the hotel is located in the small, quaint downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Slightly out of the way, which is good. Small downtown is just a few blocks up. Staff courteous, not too crowded, plenty of parking. Presidential Suite is affordable off-season. Views from private balcony stunning. Great for short-travel weekend getaway. Best to eat in room -- order a pizza from Maria's Pizza. Free breakfast is adequate. Immediate area has few dining options, but you can go down to the more touristy area. Charm is that this property is away from the main tourist strip, and closer to the downtown. Some tourist shops, but a good wine shop and a great book store and a couple of specialty shops.

Room Tip: If you have the funds, spring for one of the three Presidential Suites. The other rooms are fine, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites4195, General Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Beautiful time of year to visit our special island. You were just in time to see the colors of the season change and the wonderful sights of the landscape and the wildlife from our private balconies. Thank you for choosing the Comfort Suites for your getaway. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Beautiful facility, great staff, overall fantastic experience. Will give the Hampton Inn next door a run for their money! Love the view, lots of parking, convenient walk to downtown shops, and easy drive/walk to restaurants and tourist attractions,

Room Tip: no restaurant to rate, but comp breakfast and wine & cheese in evening were great
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bins at entrance and reminders in room to re-use towels if possible
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites4195, General Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for such a nice compliment ! Fresh air and open spaces can be a true comfort when on vacation , a quite genuine place like Chincoteague Island can put the mind at ease. Some wine and cheese on your balcony can be relaxing, but we are glad to hear that downtown and Maddox blvd kept you in good company. Looking forward to making a new reservation for you, because at the Comfort Suites words like "fantastic" are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchville, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have been coming to Chincoteague for over 40 years. We've camped and stayed at a variety of hotel/motels and the Comfort Suites are just the best! The staff is so courteous and they want to please you. The room and view was lovely.Wish we could have stayed longer but there WILL be a next time.

Room Tip: Certain rooms directly face the water. Ask about them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I am a retired hotel general manager and most resort areas come with a less that sterling attitude towards visitors, NOT HERE. The employees go out of their way to greet, speak and offer to serve you . To have a housekeeper tell you, unsolicited, how great the hotel is and how proud she is to work there is certainly a refreshing change. This type of attitude runs throughout the hotel and is reflected in an outstanding physical appearance and product being offered. GREAT JOB all around.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent with water views.
See more room tips
Green Features: They participate in the Chesapeake Bay conservation program.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites4195, General Manager at Comfort Suites Chincoteague, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Excellent !! We take pride in not only our hotel, but in our island as well. We feel that it is our responsibility to give you the best experience possible and what a pleasure it is to hear that we have succeeded, especially from someone that is familiar with our line of work. I must agree that we all share a commitment to hospitality and reviews like yours only fuel us to continue on. If you're smiling so are we, and what a great feeling it is! Thank you again for such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The coffee at breakfast was hot and the inn is within an easy walk of Don's Seafood, which was long a favorite of my late wife and I. The national wildlife refuge is also reachable via a good fitness walk, too bad, though, that the Republicans had shut down the government, including the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and the National Park Service.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony deck.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good touch. I got the message quickly. I was careful with my bathroom towels and that is one area where the inn can make a difference.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Chincoteague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Chincoteague

Address: 4195 Main Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Chincoteague 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Chincoteague, the Comfort Suites hotel offers the ideal way to enjoy all the beauty, history, recreation and adventure of Chincoteague Island. Whether its business or leisure that brings you to Virginia's only resort island, Comfort Suites lives up to it's name from the moment guests enter the lobby to be greeted by friendly, attentive staff. "Comfort" continues to be the operative word throughout the hotel, from the 87 oversized suites with waterfront views and spacious work and sitting areas, to on-site amenities that include a newly remodeled fitness center, indoor and outdoor pools, free continental breakfast and morning paper, guest laundry, fax & copy service, meeting facilities for 50 and free high speed internet service. Best of all, when it's time for fun, the options are endless on this small island. In town, there's great shopping, dining, galleries, boat rentals and fishing excursions. A visit to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge on Assateague Island offers guests the oppertunity to catch a glimpse of some of the 260 species of birds as well as the wild Chincoteague ponies. Additionally, miles of biking and hiking trails wind through pine woods, marshes and freshwater ponds. Built in 1833, the Assateague lighthouse is a favorite attraction, as is the Assateague Island National Seashore, offering over 37 miles of unspoiled beachfront for swimming and water sports. Hotel guests also enjoy the NASA Visitor's Center as well as antique shopping, miniture golf and scenic day cruise excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Chincoteague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Hotel Chincoteague Island
Comfort Suites Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Chincoteague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.