We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“East Coast Oasis ~ Best Spot along the Virginia Coastline” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Refuge Inn to your Saves list
Refuge Inn
7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off your room rate!
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“East Coast Oasis ~ Best Spot along the Virginia Coastline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Refuge Inn saved the day or rather week for my son & I who had planned 1 year in advance to spend time on the quaint island of Chincoteague for Pony Penning Week. The original hotel, just next door to the Refuge Inn was not fit to stay in upon our arrival for our long awaited holiday. I absolutely panicked thinking I would have to turn around and go back home to Maryland. We decided to attempt to save our what had quickly become a last minute mess, I walked into the Refuge Inn with a hope & a prayer that they might somehow save our Holiday & accommodate us, now last minute on the busiest week of the their entire season. When I told them our predicament they said they could help if we did not mind changing rooms a few times, we agreed that would be fine & our close to abandoned trip soon because memories made for a lifetime..

The Refuge Inn was beyond any expectation we could have conjured about how a week at the beach could unfold. They were kind, had great suggestions for dinner, how to view the ponies, what not to miss, a map & schedule for each of the weeks events pertaining to Pony Swim. My son & I love the Refuge Inn so much we can't want to return, hopefully again & again. The hotel itself is very comfortable, luxurious for the beach, perfect temperature, nice lobby, great included breakfast each morning, comfortable beds & linens, indoor-outdoor pool, lovely grounds, pony on the premises, crows-nest & roof deck and best of all just at the entrance to the beach. Safe, Clean, a place to keep your bikes or rent them and close to the seaside activities of Chincoteague. I don't think you could find a more comfortable place to stay at the beach. Thank you Refuge Inn Staff, you were wonderful. Suzanne & Wyeth D.

Room Tip: Staying on the ground floor on the poolside is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    130
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
208
138
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we checked into the Refuge Inn because you don't generally find a quality hotel in a beach resort. In addition to the attractive and clean surroundings, the staff from front desk to chambermaids were attentive and friendly. YOU GOT THE FEELING THEY AIMED TO PLEASE .Breakfast was advertised as "continental" but in addition to the usual we had waffles one day and scrambled eggs the next.
Recommendations from staff for dinner were right on. Pool, while not oversized, was adequate for that size motel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Pictures are particularly good to share this refuge's refuge with you, but here are some phrases to help: Great Location - Welcoming atmosphere & rooms - Great Staff - Old Fashion but well kept up - CLEAN! - Pretty, tropical themed pool (& it's heated!) - Pony Petting just a short walk across their parking lot - a few GLUTEN FREE options for breakfast.

This is one hotel that is actually better than its website might indicate to you. BUT, if you want bright and shiny, go to one of Neese 39's "big-box" hotels. This is, as it says, an Island Refuge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Refuge Inn is perfect for its location and accommodations. It is steps from the Chincoteague Museum, bike rental and restaurants. The pool was clean and had plenty of lounge chairs. The rooms were spacious and neat. The breakfast was great. There were plenty of options to choose from. The staff working at the hotel are friendly and pleasant. We will definitely put this on our list of great vacation places!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Chincoteague, and at first I was dismayed that there were larger, newer hotels across the street. But I must admit that as our week progressed, we came to appreciate the charms of the Inn, versus the 'big-box" national hotel chains. We stayed in room 210, a King Deluxe on the second floor. There is no elevator, but we didn't mind the exercise. The room was nicely decorated and furnished. Each room has unique decor, as we noticed while housekeepers had doors open. We had a small balcony with two chairs, but a small table would have been nice for our drinks. The bathroom was on the small size (the width of a tub) but we soon learned to cooperate and work around that. The exhaust fan actually worked, and the heat lamp was a nice touch. The room had a coffeemaker, a small fridge, round table with two chairs, two dressers, nice lighting and an older tube TV with cable and a DVD player. We noticed flat screens in many of the other rooms, so perhaps they are upgrading gradually. The best thing; the bed was Sooo comfortable. We have a tempur-pedic at home, but this mattress was wonderful. TV was best viewed from the aforementioned comfy bed, since the couch was perpendicular to the TV, which made for an awkward angle. A quiet A/C unit kept the room comfortable.
Ice, vending machines, a microwave, and guest laundry were located on each floor.
Breakfast each morning was more than adequate. We typically have only cereal at home, so the nice variety of breads, yummy homemade waffles (3 out of 6 mornings) and scrambled eggs, along with yogurt, and some fruit and juices, and hot tea, coffee, and hot chocolate were plenty to get us going for the day. Being a New Englander I was not used to table syrup (only real maple syrup will do) so be warned and bring your own if you can identify.
We ventured to the Assateague shore, of course (week pass is $15.00), and used the Inn as a base to explore along the coast (village of Onancock), Wallops Flight facility, and the charms of Chincoteague. Don't miss the museum of Chincoteague down the street, it is very well done. Bring bug spray if you plan to hike the woods. Bugs are not bad on the beach due to the breeze. The Wildlife Tour offered from the visitor center is worth the $12.00, it takes you on access roads through the Assateague preserve not open to the public.
There is a corral next to one side of the Inn, with a mare and four foals. They are lovely to look at and feed. The pool area is very nice, but too often loud children doing cannonballs foiled any attempts at relaxation there. But that is what the beach is for, a five minute drive. The breakfast room was also a gift shop, so I found myself browsing while eating. Prices were reasonable.
The front desk staff, breakfast staff, and housekeeping were all friendly, professional, and very helpful. There is a sense of community here, We had a wonderful week and were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Soaking tub is nothing special, just a deeper regular tub. First floor rooms on parking lot side ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I just loved this place. It's a great place to stay while you're on Chincoteague. The staff couldn't be nicer. Even though we hadn't mentioned our AAA card when we made the reservation, when they saw our AAA Visa, they said, 'Oh, you get a discount.' It was quite nice. And they seem to be the only inn/hotel on the island that has ponies. You have to go to Assateaque to see the ponies, and there's no guarantee that they'll be where you are. The continental breakfast was fine; it's enough to get to going and out the door to start your day. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Refuge Inn. Great location, just a bike ride across the bridge to Asseteague Island. Very quiet and comfortable. Pool is half indoor/half outdoor which was fun for our granddaughter. She loved the ponies too. Rooms were clean with sliding door to adirondack chairs which were very comfortable to relax with a good book. Everyone we encountered was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refuge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.