We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Refuge Inn to your Saves list
Refuge Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off your room rate!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Family delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Refuge Inn was a delight in every way. Our room on the second floor overlooked the pool and a large pink Crepe Myrtle tree. We loved having coffee on our balcony and listening to the happy sounds from the pool. Our Queen room was roomy with a nice bathroom and two queen beds. Breakfast is included...a different kind of egg each day. On the property there is a large corral with Chincoteague ponies and a bike rental place and lots of tall trees. The staff is very helpful and friendly. It is located close to the entrance to the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    133
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
217
153
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
franklin,in
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Refuge Inn was a nice,clean Inn. The beds was comfortable. The Inn is well maintained. Location is good. Pool was very nice. I would have rated it higher if it wasn't for the price. The room was not worth $200.00 per night. The only complaint I had was the price and the old bed comforter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a great hotel to stay at on the island then this is your place. The kids loved being able to feed the ponies on the property as well the pool. The adults loved the hot tub and how close it is to the beach. Chincoteague is an awesome place to spend a vacation at.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We visited the Refuge Inn as a family on a special trip to the Assateague Island National Seashore. We were very comfortable here. The hotel is very clean and well-maintained, and the staff especially friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, and the location is superb! We hope to return in future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would stay again. Rooms a bit old-fashioned but clean and comfortable. Park like surroundings and ponies for the kids to pet. Closest motel to the beach.

Breakfast is standard motel buffet, but with a different egg each day, and often custom waffles made by the very friendly attendant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, West Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We returned to the Refuge Inn with my brother's family this month I was counting on a repeat of my previous good experience there, seeing that I was recommending it to my brother, and it turned out to be a great experience for all of us. Don't come expecting the Ritz Carlton, but this is a great beach hotel - not musty, reasonably comfortable beds, and nice unexpected amenities.

The location has to be the best on the island - close to Assateague, but it sits back from the street far enough that it feels secluded from the traffic on the street. The pool is great - indoor/outdoor convenience and a great break from the beach. The facility is surrounded by large pine trees which provide welcome shade from the summer sun. Nice towels are provided at the pool, which is convenient.

The breakfast is the best, and a big part of why we plan to return again and again. They have a perfect selection plus a different hot item made to order each day that makes it so much more worthwhile than a regular continental breakfast. This alone saved us $25 per day not having to go out for breakfast.

Other amenities are just icing on the cake - guest washer/dryer on site, nicely decorated rooms - each one seems unique- bike rentals and a pony corral across the parking lot, picnic tables and grills in a nice wooded setting outside the patio doors (each room has a balcony or patio doors leading directly to the lawn/common areas, which I appreciated but if you are concerned about security, opt for a second floor room. I didn't worry - the patio doors have great locks with a backup deadbolt), dehumidifiers in the room in addition to A/C make the rooms much more comfortable, refrigerators and coffee makers, ice machine always had ice, and the staff were always friendly. Especially the breakfast staff!!

When we plan to return to Chincoteague, we won't think twice about returning to the Refuge Inn.

Room Tip: They are all good!! Ground floor rooms have patio doors leading to common areas, second floor will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were upgraded to a suite at no additional charge last minute. When we got here we were amazed that the suite was bigger than the first level of our home. It's very clean and fantastic location that over looks a chorale of adorable ponies.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Refuge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refuge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.