We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just jump on your bike and ride over to Assateague Island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refuge Inn

Save Saved
You added Refuge Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Refuge Inn
7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just jump on your bike and ride over to Assateague Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fantastic location! If you want to bike around Assateague, the Refuge Inn is the perfect place to stay. It is just across the bridge and even has a bike shop where you can get supplies or rent a bike. We had a first floor room so were able to leave our bikes locked up on the patio. There is a free continental breakfast--not great but the price is right. The inn has a nice family atmosphere and is well cared for with lots of plants and garden spots. We enjoyed the pool and picnic areas. They also have a couple of Chincoteague ponies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    113
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
182
120
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a blustery early May weekend here and just loved it! We brought our three year old and our one month old, and the Refuge Inn accommodated both very well. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable, the ponies are great (as are the free feed bags!) for kids, and the pool is a good temperature. The location was nice as well. We could walk to two museums (just across the road) and a family-friendly diner, and being so close to Assateague was also nice. Other families seem to be comfortable here as well: at breakfast there were so many kids. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Refuge Inn May 4-5. The room was recently updated and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location cannot be better for access to the Wildlife Refuge, as a matter of fact, a deck on the property overlooking the inlet is a great place to observe the water fowl.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Refuge Inn April 26-28 for a weekend visit to Chincoteague Island. The Inn is located near the entrance to the Chincoteague Wildlife Refuge. We rented a deluxe room with a king-sized bed. Our room was clean, spacious, and attractively appointed. It actually looked like the pictures on the web site. We had a small balcony available to us with a view of a small wooded area. The staff was very nice. Every morning they serve a continental breakfast with a different featured item (waffles, french toast, etc.). We also enjoyed the heated pool and jacuzzi. You could definitely get a room for less but I think the extra money we spent to stay at the Refuge Inn was well worth it .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was a surprise weekend getaway and my first time to Chincoteague. I've never stayed at a hotel that wasn't a part of a chain. I'm happy we didn't. We had a beautiful room and it was a great size. We loved the double curtains which allowed us to sleep in. Being so used to getting up early everyday during the week, that was a huge plus for us. The staff was extremely nice and the grounds were well kept.

Since our trip was in April, there weren't quite as many people as we heard usually visit the island. For my first trip there, I'm glad I got to experience it during a "slow" period. I'm sure though that when we return during the summer, we'll have the same experience at this hotel. This is a must stay!

Room Tip: Try the king deluxe rooms! I believe there are two. We stayed in one. It was larger than the ones we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was a surprise trip for my wife to see the ponies, it was a great trip and capped off with a stay here. Not a chain hotel, friendly staff, clean room, bit dated, but quite, clean and well appointed. No issue really this will be my stay next visit. Close to the park, a corral with a pony on the property. Bike rentals close, places to eat close, and a breakfast included. Small gift shop, and the heated pool, Jacuzzi and sauna were all nice,,,

Room Tip: rooms have small sitting area outside, if you pick a ground room it is to get your bags in and out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband, son and I recently spent a wonderful weekend at The Refuge Inn in Chincoteague and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. The location among the trees with the ponies next door was beautiful and the room was tasteful, well-maintained, and quiet. The scenery looking out towards Assateague was outstanding. I can't say enough about the awesome staff. Everyone from the front desk staff to the "breakfast" ladies to the housekeepers were the most helpful, friendly, and gracious you could ever ask from a hotel. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refuge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.