We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice peaceful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Refuge Inn to your Saves list
Refuge Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off your room rate!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice peaceful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Have stayed here in the past andit hasn't changed. Rooms are nice and clean, not new or modern but nice. The room has a nice large dresser and TV. They have a mini fridge and coffee maker in the room. Microwave is available at the end of the hall. Continental breakfast was nice. When we walked in the woman asked if we wanted a waffle today? We said yes and were delivered a nice hot waffle in minutes. The people at the front desk are full of information for any questions you have. Best part is it's 2 seconds from the bridge to the Refuge and there are bike rentals right next store (we just ignored the McDonalds) that was next to that. There is also a very nice inside/outside pool available but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: Al the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    133
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
217
152
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carthage, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in connecting rooms from April 2nd through the 4th. The rooms were wonderful; clean, comfortable beds, sliding glass doors to the outside, very quiet and no musty smell at all. The staff are super nice-from reservations to check-in to breakfast. Speaking of breakfast; there were plenty of choices from cereal, muffins, pastries, fruit, juice, coffee, etc. Both mornings there were hot choices also. The other reviewers who complained about this obviously don't know what a continental breakfast is. The choices were a perfect start to busy days.
We were a party of 6 adults, a toddler and an infant. Ponies this year were young - maybe yearlings? They were a blast and the toddler loved them, as well as this gramma! We made sandwiches one day and took a picnic out to the deck overlooking the marsh and the bridge to Assateague. When we come back in warmer weather, we will rent bikes from the Refuge - it's an easy bike ride over to Assateague and also plan a cruise with Captain Carlton.
I highly recommend The Refuge Inn. It's clean, quiet, not a chain, offers swimming year round and has a super helpful staff plus the lovely ponies that are always happy for a little snack of corn from the vending machine!

Room Tip: 1st floor 126/128 are connecting, on the quiet side and perfect for a larger family group that needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Refuge Inn is my go-to hotel on Chincoteague. The staff are friendly, the rooms are cozy and clean and the location is perfect for beach access. The Inn serves as a great base camp to enjoy all the island has to offer and is a wonderful 'refuge' from the more commercial chain hotels on the island and the shore. There are great amenities such as a big pool and hot tub in which I've spent many enjoyable hours with friends, a great view out toward Assateague, bike rentals for venturing around the islands and ponies ON SITE! The staff give great tips for activities and food. I won't stay anywhere else on Chincoteague!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Refuge Inn was the best place to stay! I really loved walking out to see the ponies and the ride to the beach was quick. The room was great, pool was fun, and I never saw the big bugs that I read about. You could rent a bike or see ponies run right next door. I would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The place has a nice rustic but cozy vibe. It is not a new motel but it seems to be well maintained. They have a good quality continental breakfast in a very cheery room. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The Refuge Inn is a go to place for a relaxing and comfortable getaway. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. We enjoyed the enclosed heated pool while watching the windy cold weather outside. It was so peaceful! We love the bright and cheery breakfast room as well as the gift shop. The staff couldn't be nicer and Michael was so helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. We will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is our fifth vacation to Chincoteague and our second stay at the Refuge Inn. Since this trip was unplanned, after Thanksgiving and Hurricance Sandy, we did not know what to expect. Luckily we were able to book a room at the Refuge Inn for a few days at a very reasonable rate, the lowest we had ever had. The Inn suffered no damage. In fact it seemed even nicer than on our last visit. The rooms are extremely clean and nicely furnished. Everyone at the establishment is friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet includes special hot items each day. The best part of the Refuge Inn is its convenient location within a short distance from the refuge which is the main attraction for us. Since we only go to Chincoteague in November, I cannot comment on the hot tub or pool. It is usually too cold for us to use the balcony off our room or the picnic area. The Inn is within walking distance to the McDonald's next door and the diner across the street. We have stayed at 3 other of the more expensive motels in Chincoteague but would recommend the Refuge over them.

Room Tip: It's nice to have a room overlooking the wooded picnic area and pony corral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Refuge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refuge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.