We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I chose The Refuge Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refuge Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Refuge Inn to your Saves list
Refuge Inn
7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off your room rate!
Coppell
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glad I chose The Refuge Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed 5 days and enjoyed the stay very much. I had a first floor room that overlooked a back yard of pine trees. A lone seagull joined me each morning on the patio while I had breakfast provided by the Inn. The staff was very helpful to the point they let me use their office computer so I could check in at the airport and print out my boarding passes. I emailed them back in July after I had made my reservation for some names of island cruses. I chose one they recommened and the cruse was fantastic. I recommend an island cruse right away to get a great history of this beautiful island.

Room Tip: Any type of room should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    130
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
208
138
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Having done a lot of research on hotels, condos and cottages in Chincoteague we decided the Refuge Inn best fit our needs. From the moment of check in when the receptionist juggled the rooms to allocate us a king bedded room on the second floor overlooking the pine trees, rather than a first floor room overlooking the parking lot, we were well pleased with our choice. With all the amenities of a much higher priced chain hotel without the exorbitant price, the Refuge Inn has character and personality. The owners very obviously take great pride in their business and it shows. Six nights flew by all too quickly, and we will miss the friendly, super helpful staff, the ponies who greet us as we pull into the parking lot, the delicious breakfasts with the cheerful ladies who ensure that everyone is happy, the lovely pool with its tropical plants, and the newly landscaped beds along the walkway. Be aware that there is no elevator, but an obliging young man was summoned to help us unload our car and carry the luggage up the indoor stairs to our room. The decor varies from room to room - I think ours was "shabby chic", but it was spacious, clean and contained everything we needed for nearly a week's stay. We hope to return.

Room Tip: If you don't want to look out onto parked cars ask for a room on the pool side of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've booked many rooms for our vacations on the internet and always found that the accommodations didn't live up to the descriptions. The Refuge Inn however was far from a disappointment. It was better than I expected in every way. The location was perfect, the staff was friendly and helpful and the room was delightful. We had a Deluxe King room that was spacious, nicely furnished and reasonably priced. It was very comfortable. Our private balcony faced the pony corral. The Inn offered many amenities including a continental breakfast. I'm very glad I chose the Refuge Inn over another motel I was considering.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

First-time customer for a long weekend after Labor Day. We not be staying anywhere else going forward. We had a nice, quiet and relaxing visit and the location was perfect. The only bad part was the mosquitoes, but that was not anything under their control. Perfect place for families or couples to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

First time staying here,highly recommended,have Spa pool outside upper deck,close to everything,breakfast was contanental ,yesterday was eggs today had them making waffles.Will be back next time there.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 136 in back no rooms above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My family's first "mini" vacation with our 4 and 6 year old was spent at Chincoteage Island, calling The Refuge Inn "home" for a few days. After my father's death a month prior, I needed a place of refuge and The Refuge Inn certainly delivered. The staff was incredible, accommodating and friendly. The grounds and the room were very clean and lacked the typical sticky, moist and mildewy smell and feel of most beach hotels. My kids couldn't decide if they liked the beach or the delightfully simple and uncrowded pool better! The breakfast had something for everyone (and we are vegetarians!) and even my picky daughter had ample choices that were healthy AND kid-friendly. My husband's family used to stay here when he was a kid, so the feeling of familiarity and carrying on tradition was special for us and he said the updates completed since he was last there were wonderfully done. Can't wait to return! My thanks to the staff for taking hospitality seriously!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at the Refuge Inn on Labor day weekend - great location, quaint atmosphere and friendly staff. We were pleasantly surprised how nice the rooms were -spacious, clean and fairly modern. Bathroom is on the small side but nice. Has coffee pot/counter area and small refrigerator. We were on the second floor - which is nice and quiet, but it is all stairs to lug your suitcases up. The downstairs units have the sliding doors right out to a patio - which is out to parking lot so would be much easier for packing/unpacking car. As far as view - there really is not much to see other than the pony pen - which is one side of the building, which could be seen from just about any room, and the other side of the buiding is just a wooded lot. The entire property is smoke free - but you can walk across by the pony pen and sit at one of the picnic tables.
Continental breakfast daily - your basic breads, cereal, coffees/tea - and one hot choice each morning - french toast, waffle and scrambled eggs were the choices when we were there. The wait staff was very friendly and accommodating - even provide trays if you prefer to dine in your room.
The propery sits just outside the Refuge/Asseteague park entrances - easy bike or scooter ride - or less than 5 minute drive in a car. We preferred this end of the island to up by the Main street - as with all the cars and people over the weekend we really didnt have to deal with it. There are multiple places to pick up sundries and supplies within walking distance, a few places to eat, a gas station and a small cafe with a bar right across the street.

Room Tip: Not much views from any room other than the pony pen....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Refuge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Inn

Address: 7058 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336 (Formerly Refuge Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceed your expectations in this family owned inn where no detail is overlooked. The Refuge Inn is located within walking distance of the wildlife refuge and minutes from our beautiful undeveloped beach. Amenities include Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Indoor/Outdoor Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Fitness Room, Bicycle & Beach Gear Rentals, Conference Room and Gift Shop. A Treasure of a place, Family Owned and Proudly Operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Refuge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refuge Hotel Chincoteague Island
Refuge Chincoteague Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refuge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.