We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only thing missing are kid-friendly sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Star Cafe

Sea Star Cafe
6429 Maddox Blvd., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2464
757-336-5442
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Sea Star Cafe Gourmet Carry Out is locally owned and operated! We opened on Main Street in 2000 and moved to our new location on Maddox Blvd. in 2013. Serving gourmet sandwiches, fresh salads, vegetarian & vegan fare as well as homemade soups, sides and baked goods. All of our food is MADE FRESH to ORDER by the 2 OWNERS..... everyday all the time! Our soups, sauces, hummus, baked goods etc. are made by us right here! We intended Sea Star to be carryout but do have some outdoor seating limited to 3 picnic tables as regulated by Virginia Department of Health. Check us out!
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Only thing missing are kid-friendly sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped by right at lunchtime so I expected a serious wait but we were back on the road within 15 minutes, gigantic sandwiches in hand. Everything was generous and fresh and reasonably priced for what you got. You might not notice this little stop set back from the road, but you shouldn't miss it.
The only reason that we didn't give it a 5 is that there were no kid-friendly options for sandwiches. We ended up having to build a sandwich for my daughter that was just cheese on a wrap and it ended up being over $5.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    64
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Terrific sandwich shop. Had lunch there today and my husband and I should have orddded only one sandwich. We have two woderful halves left for tomorrow's lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Waiting 365 days between visits is too long...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It probably seems comical to the girls who work the window, but we visit the Sea Star each day (yes, all 7) we are vacationing on the Island. The sandwiches, salads and soups are fresh, prepared with care and delicious. It is evident this is a place that takes pride in its product. It can be frustrating when the phone rings busy, but once you've experienced the food it becomes understandable. The new location is great. Abundant parking and a straight shot from the beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth waiting in line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Another favorite place of mine. Food is made to order. Salads are fresh. Shrimp salad is craveable. Try the Mama Zuma chips. Lots of unique food choices. And you can build your own sandwich. Iced Tea, Coffee - always fresh. Nice selection of beverages including Perrier. Friendly and wonderful service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best sandwich shops we have ever been too...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Everything was fresh and made to order. The Mushroom Brie soup...in one word - delight! I will admit, we ate here at least 4 of our 6 days visiting the island. We are already talking about our next visit, and how we can smuggle home some of that delicious soup!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Star Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sea Star Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Star Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.