We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Family Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant

Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant
3441 Ridge Rd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1616
757-336-1198
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Ephrata, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Family Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This restaurant was a fun place to dine. Their decor is like the Yellow Submarine and there are lots of pictures of fish painted on the walls, as well as coloring pages and drawings of fish done by children. We enjoyed naming the different types of fish while waiting for our food. There was a great variety of food and the food was good and reasonably priced. The service was very good as well. Our waitress was quite friendly and answered any questions we had about the restaurant. We found this restaurant to be very family/kid friendly and we would eat there again.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    52
    34
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burke, VA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice out of the way restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We ate here a couple of times. We were greeted by friendly servers. This is an older restaurant and it is out of the way for most of the tourist population. This worked well for us as there was no crowd and we never had to wait to get in or be served. The menu is limited but good. Service was really good and the food was delivered quickly. The food was great. I would recommend Mr. Baldy's to anyone that wants to get away from everyone and have a peaceful dinner.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE SERVICE AND EXPECT TO PAY FOR EVERY SINGLE ITEM”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Our breakfast for two ended up costing $19.52. Food was ok, service was terrible. Is was like we didn't exist to the server. You get charged for every item you order. One egg $3.00, Bacon $2.50, Homes fries $2.50, Toast $1.50, coffee $1.95. etc, etc. etc. Poor service + high prices = GO ELSEWHERE.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Down home country cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Vacationed on Chincoteague Island last week. Went to Mr. Baldy's for delicious chicken and dumplings on Sunday our first day there. Went back 6 times during the week. Could not pass up the country cooking and the daily specials at reasonable prices. The crab cakes and flounder are fantastic! Mr. Baldy's is on Ridge Road a little out of the way and the decor is nothing fancy. It is now my favorite place to eat on Chincoteague. We noticed a lot of the locals eat there. It's not a place for romance or atmosphere--just great food!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Had breakfast on two mornings. Fried eggs, sausage, ham, potatoes - at a reasonable price. Friendly wait staff, quaint and simple diner.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.