We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid breakfast good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant

Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant
3441 Ridge Rd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1616
757-336-1198
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Union City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Solid breakfast good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stopped on our way out of town after a week long vacation. Ordered blueberry pancakes for $4.50 and a side of bacon for $2. So much food. Couldn't even finish it though I tried. Blueberries were plentiful and juicy. My only complaint was that I found the coffee to be extremely weak. Service was very friendly. Appreciated the huge cup of ice water. Loved the Beatles decor. Very casual, down home, unique atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    52
    37
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Great food from an unlikely shack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We decided to stop here for lunch after a recommendation from a road trip book (which actually highlighted the great breakfasts you can find here). So glad we did. Although the building is a bit like a ramshackle shack, and the interior is characterized by all sorts of Beatles' memorobila, the food is superb. Diner fare at its very best. The fried flounder fish sandwich was hot and fresh and the service was very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here and it was great. My younger son had a grilled cheese kids meal with lots of fries--a great value for the money. My other son had a handmade cheeseburger from the regular menu that he rates as good and juicy. I had the Asian salad, which had lots of greens, canned Mandarin oranges, dried cranberries, and Chinese noodles with raspberry vinaigrette dressing. It was great, with the notable exception of the noodles, which were stale. All in all, a great place to take the kids, especially if you like the Beatles, as the owner has Beatles memorabilia all over the back wall. Great conversation starters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smethport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Start the day off right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My mornings started early. I would grab a snack from the hotel, and head to the beach for pictures. When done I head to Mr. Baldy's. The staff are so gracious and friendly. The food is plentiful and reasonably priced.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Good eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was hesitant to eat here since there were no cars in the lot, but the food was good. Had an old fashioned BLT with fries and enjoyed every bite of it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.