We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Octapus's Garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant

Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant
3441 Ridge Rd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-1616
757-336-1198
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love the Octapus's Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Cute place, loved the mural and kid's artwork! We had two meals here during our stay on the island. Lunch was pleasant and very reasonably priced. Our oyster sandwich was well prepared. We returned for breakfast, service was a bit slow (not the server's fault!) perhaps they needed one more server on the floor to handle as two large groups were seated which made it a bit noisy since the walls in the dining room are cinderblock.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    52
    34
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Bad ownership”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

While eating there today i had an overall great experience. The waitress was very friendly and nice and provided wonderful service to our table of four. as i went to thr bathroom i heard a gentlemen in the kitchen area yelling and screaming at two waitresses. i find it myself very disturbing and inappropriate to raise a voice and yell at staff member. i asked our waitress about it and she said she only worked three days a week and this morning he was a jerk to everyone. when on vacation you want a friendly atmosphere to eat at not somewhere that you hear yelling at the food was okay but seemed a little old

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsville, New Jersey
1 review
“definately a craver!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Went to baldy's with my husband and my parents. They just relocated to the island. We stopped at a few restaurants during our stay and all were lovely but Mr. baldy's caught the attention of our taste buds. it was slow but we came around 4 so no big deal. The waitress recommended the reuben. best reuben i have ever had! My husband got prime rib. Cooked just right and the portions were nice aswell plus you get sides. We shared a bowl of the crab soup and ended up coming back the day we left to order some pints of it to take home with us! Can't wait to visit my parents again and to come to mr. baldy's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Canned vegetables in August?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were looking for a new place to eat on the island, so we wound up here. We won't wind up here ever again. The meatloaf was overly processed and the vegetables were canned. In the middle of fresh produce season. My son's BLT had hot house tomatoes on it, while plenty of fresh local tomatoes are readily available.
Service was okay, atmosphere mediocre. Food was awful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Not spectacular atmosphere or food but a solid lunch place. My husband ordered the pulled pork sandwich and he wasn't thrilled. I ordered the Reuben and it was delicious. (on that sandwich, I'd rate five stars!)

Small place, little run down, staff was neither friendly nor rude but got the job done. I'd go again for lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Baldy's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.